The Castle Behind Thorns

3.91 avg rating
( 1,167 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062008213: The Castle Behind Thorns

This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author of The Princess Curse and Handbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale.

When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle’s secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Stories don't know everything.

hen Sand wakes up alone in a long-abandoned castle, he has no idea how he got there. The stories all said the place was ruined by an earthquake, but that doesn't explain why everything inside is torn in half or smashed to bits. Nothing lives here and nothing grows, except the vicious, thorny bramble that holds Sand prisoner.

When Sand finds the castle's lost heir, Perrotte, they begin putting together the pieces—of stone and iron, of wood and cloth, and of a broken life. But the things Sand fixes work somehow better than they ought to. Is there magic in the mending?

With gorgeous language and breathtaking enchantment, Merrie Haskell's The Castle Behind Thorns tells of the power of memory, story, forgiveness, and the true gifts of craft and imagination.

From the Back Cover:

Stories don't know everything.

When Sand wakes up alone in a long-abandoned castle, he has no idea how he got there. The stories all said the place was ruined by an earthquake, and Sand did not expect to find everything inside torn in half or smashed to bits. Nothing lives here and nothing grows, except the vicious, thorny bramble that holds Sand prisoner. Why wasn't this in the stories?

To survive, Sand does what he knows best—he fires up the castle's forge to mend what he needs. But the things he fixes work somehow better than they ought to. Is there magic in the mending? Or have the saints who once guarded this place returned?

When Sand finds the castle's lost heir, Perrotte, they begin to untwine the dark secrets that caused the destruction. Putting together the pieces—of stone and iron, and of a broken life—is harder than Sand ever imagined, but it's the only way to regain their freedom.

With gorgeous language and breathtaking magic, Merrie Haskell's The Castle Behind Thorns tells of the power of memory, story, forgiveness, and the true gifts of craft and imagination.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Haskell, Merrie
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620082130000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by Katherine Tegen Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062008213

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062008218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 190 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author ofThe Princess CurseandHandbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale.When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle s secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062008213

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 190 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This magical adventure set in an enchanted castle surrounded by thorns tells a tale of the power of memory and story, forgiveness and strength, and the true gifts of craft and imagination. By the acclaimed author ofThe Princess CurseandHandbook for Dragon Slayers, this original fantasy is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine, Karen Cushman, and Shannon Hale.When blacksmith apprentice Sand wakes up in a ruined castle, he has no idea how he got there, but the thorny brambles that surround the walls prevent him from leaving. As he begins to fix up the castle in order to survive, everything he touches somehow works better than it should. Then, as he continues to explore, Sand discovers the castle s secrets, including its long lost heir, Perrotte. Together they must fully repair the broken castle if they ever want to leave. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062008213

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062008218 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17448982

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062008213

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by Katherine Tegen Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062008218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Haskell, Merrie
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Katherine Tegen Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062008218. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062008218ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Haskell, Merrie
ISBN 10: 0062008218 ISBN 13: 9780062008213
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # 115053803

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book