Wolverton, Barry Neversink

ISBN 13: 9780062027917

Neversink

3.79 avg rating
( 320 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062027917: Neversink

Barry Wolverton's masterful middle-grade debut, Neversink, is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish, in the vein of Watership Down and Kathi Appelt's The Underneath.

Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns—few, save for Lockley's two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird.

But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink's independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it—unless Lockley can do something about it.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, whose jagged cliffs and ice-gouged rocks are home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns—few, save for Lockley's two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird.

But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, is dealing with a famine on the mainland of Tytonia—and he has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink's independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it—unless Lockley can do something about it.

Barry Wolverton's debut is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish.

About the Author:

Barry Wolvertonmakes his debut with Neversink, though he has long been interested in arctic wildfowl and Scandinavian folklore. He has also written for NationalGeographic.com, Scholastic.com, and Discovery Networks. Barry lives in Memphis.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Walden Pond Press
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walden Pond Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062027913. Bookseller Inventory # GHP2225ECAN122116H1392

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Walden Pond Press
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Academic Book Solutions
(Medford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walden Pond Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New, unread, and unused. Bookseller Inventory # ABS-1327-1080

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Walden Pond Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walden Pond Press, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062027913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wolverton, Barry
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620279170000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062027913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Wolverton, Barry
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620279171.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Sam Nielson (illustrator). 211 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Barry Wolverton s masterful middle-grade debut, Neversink, is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish, in the vein of Watership Down and Kathi Appelt s The Underneath.Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns--few, save for Lockley s two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird.But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink s independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it--unless Lockley can do something about it. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062027917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Sam Nielson (illustrator). 211 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Barry Wolverton s masterful middle-grade debut, Neversink, is an epic tale of some very un-epic birds, a fast-paced and funny story of survival, friendship, and fish, in the vein of Watership Down and Kathi Appelt s The Underneath.Along the Arctic Circle lies a small island called Neversink, home to a colony of odd-looking seabirds called auks, including one Lockley J. Puffin. With their oceanfront views and plentiful supply of fish, the auks have few concerns--few, save for Lockley s two best friends, Egbert and Ruby, a know-it-all walrus and a sharp-tongued hummingbird.But all of this is about to change. Rozbell, the newly crowned king of the Owl Parliament, has long had his scheming eyes on the small colony to the north. Now Neversink s independence hangs in the balance. An insurgence of owls will inevitably destroy life as the auks know it--unless Lockley can do something about it. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062027917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Walden Pond Press
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walden Pond Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062027913 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 13920912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Wolverton, Barry
Published by Walden Pond Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062027913 ISBN 13: 9780062027917
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Walden Pond Press, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062027913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book