Ride Around Shining: A Novel

3.34 avg rating
( 87 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062285072: Ride Around Shining: A Novel

Longlisted for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction

A provocative debut novel about a young white chauffeur and his wealthy black employer, an NBA player—a twenty-first century inversion of what we’ve come to expect stories of race and class to look like, and a discomfiting portrait of envy and obsession.

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess—a nobody from nowhere with a Master’s degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming Trail Blazer named Calyph West and his young wife, Antonia.

Calyph is black and Antonia is white and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple’s estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.

In the tradition of The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Great Gatsby, and Harold Pinter’s The Servant—not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude—Ride Around Shining tries to say the unsayable about white fixation on black culture, particularly black athletic culture, something so common in everyday life it has gone all but unaddressed.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

A provocative debut novel about a young white chauffeur and his wealthy black employer, an NBA player—a twenty-first century inversion of what we’ve come to expect stories of race and class to look like, and a discomfiting portrait of envy and obsession.

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess—a nobody from nowhere with a Master’s degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming Trail Blazer named Calyph West and his young wife, Antonia.

Calyph is black and Antonia is white and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple’s estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.

In the tradition of The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Great Gatsby, and Harold Pinter’s The Servant—not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude—Ride Around Shining tries to say the unsayable about white fixation on black culture, particularly black athletic culture, something so common in everyday life it has gone all but unaddressed.

From the Back Cover:

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess—a nobody from nowhere with a master's degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming NBA small forward, a Trail Blazer named Calyph West, and his young wife, Antonia. Calyph is black, Antonia is white, and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all that they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple's estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.

In the tradition of Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley and Harold Pinter's The Servant—not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude—Ride Around Shining is a striking, propulsive debut that is by turns hilarious and discomfiting, moody and thrilling, and which asks unforgettable questions about the modern tensions of race and class in America.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Academic Book Solutions
(Medford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New, unread, and unused. Bookseller Inventory # ABS-1288-1035

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 225 pages. 9.25x6.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0062285076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.36
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A provocative debut novel about a young white chauffeur and his wealthy black employer, an NBA playera twenty-first century inversion of what we've come to expect stories of race and class to look like, and a discomfiting portrait of envy and obsession. Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jessa nobody from nowhere with a Master's degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming Trail Blazer named Calyph West and his young wife, Antonia. Calyph is black and Antonia is white and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple's estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior. In the tradition of The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Great Gatsby, and Harold Pinter's The Servantnot to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dudeRide Around Shining tries to say the unsayable about white fixation on black culture, particularly black athletic culture, something so common in everyday life it has gone all but unaddressed. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062285076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622850721.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062285076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062285076 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062285076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062285076 ISBN 13: 9780062285072
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062285076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds