Dinosaur Tracks (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)

3.89 avg rating
( 27 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780064452175: Dinosaur Tracks (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2)

Millions of years ago, dinosaurs left their footprints all over the earth. With each discovery of a dinosaur footprint, ichnologists—scientists who study dinosaur tracks—learn more about these ancient creatures and the world they lived in. Read and find out how to step back into history through the footprint of a dinosaur.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld is the award-winning author of more than seventy books for children.  She has written several books in the Let’s Read And Find Out Science series, including:  WHAT LIVES IN A SHELL?, an NSTA/CBC “Outstanding Science Trade Book” and winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s “Best Children’s Book” award; WHAT IS THE WORLD MADE OF?, a Children’s Book of the Month Club Main Selection; WHAT’S ALIVE?, also named an AAAS “Best Children’s Book”;  HOW MOUNTAINS ARE MADE, an NSTA/CBC “Outstanding Science Trade Book,” DINOSAUR TRACKS, "a great choice for even the most discriminating dinophiles" (School Library Journal); and DINOSAURS BIG AND SMALL, winner of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio “Best Book Award”

Kathleen was a children’s book editor for over ten years before becoming a full-time writer.  When she is not reading, researching, writing, or editing she loves to spend her free time exploring, doing fieldwork, and preparing and curating fossils for her local natural history museums.  She lives in Berkeley, CA.



Lucia Washburn has illustrated more than a dozen books for children. Her Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science books include Dinosaur Tracks, Dinosaurs Big and Small, and Did Dinosaurs Have Feathers?, which has illustrations that "provide vivid visualizations of long-ago landscapes" (School Library Journal). Her other books include Look to the North by Jean Craighead George, a 1997 Parents' Choice Gold Award winner praised as "a fine addition to science collections" (ALA Booklist). When she travels, she and her family enjoy visiting the local museums to see their dinosaur collections. Being the mother of two children, she has a special fondness for Maiasaura. She lives in California with her family.

From Booklist:

In this volume in the Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science series, Zoehfeld builds on children's fascination with dinosaurs by providing technical details about fossil tracks, including information about how they were formed and how some remained, buried underground for millions of years until the soil wore away to reveal them. The clear text is illustrated with informal, colorful spreads of kids at play on the beach where millions of years earlier dinosaurs may have "splooshed through gloppy mud . . . [leaving] footprints behind them." It may be hard for kids to imagine a time span of more than 65 million years, but Zoehfeld brings perspective ("millions of years before any people or any moose or any elephants ever lived"), and, with adult help, elementary-school readers will be able to handle the fascinating facts about the size of the tracks and what the tracks reveal about the dinosaurs that made them. Link this to the titles in the "Read-alikes: Bone Hunters!" on p.62. Hazel Rochman
Copyright American Library Association. All rights reserved

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 6.99
US$ 6.94

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Published by HarperCollins, New Zealand (2007)
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, New Zealand, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Lucia Washburn (illustrator). 246 x 196 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Millions of years ago, dinosaurs left their footprints all over the earth. With each discovery of a dinosaur footprint, ichnologists--scientists who study dinosaur tracks--learn more about these ancient creatures and the world they lived in. Read and find out how to step back into history through the footprint of a dinosaur. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780064452175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800644521750000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Published by HarperCollins, New Zealand (2007)
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, New Zealand, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 246 x 196 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Millions of years ago, dinosaurs left their footprints all over the earth. With each discovery of a dinosaur footprint, ichnologists--scientists who study dinosaur tracks--learn more about these ancient creatures and the world they lived in. Read and find out how to step back into history through the footprint of a dinosaur. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780064452175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Published by HarperCollins, New Zealand (2007)
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, New Zealand, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 246 x 196 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Millions of years ago, dinosaurs left their footprints all over the earth. With each discovery of a dinosaur footprint, ichnologists--scientists who study dinosaur tracks--learn more about these ancient creatures and the world they lived in. Read and find out how to step back into history through the footprint of a dinosaur. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780064452175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Zoehfeld, Kathleen Weidner
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780064452175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0064452174

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Zoehfeld, Kathleen Weidner
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780064452175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Zoehfeld, Kathleen Weidner
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0064452174 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # YGDA-FBD-01538

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Zoehfeld, Kathleen Weidner
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0064452174 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # YGDA-FBD-05547

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Zoehfeld, Kathleen Weidner
Published by HarperCollins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0064452174 ISBN 13: 9780064452175
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0064452174

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book