Alexander Kent RICHARD BOLITHO - Midshipman

ISBN 13: 9780099152002

RICHARD BOLITHO - Midshipman

4.01 avg rating
( 894 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099152002: RICHARD BOLITHO - Midshipman
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The year is 1772, and Richard Bolitho is a sixteen-year-old midshipman about to undergo a severe initiation into the game of seamanship. The book follows young Bolitho's adventures as he intercepts and destroys a band of vicious pirates and then is swept away on a dangerous mission through the treacherous stamping ground of smugglers, wreckers, and murderers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alexander Kent, also known as Douglas Edward Reeman, joined the British Navy at 16, serving on destroyers and small craft during World War II, and eventually rising to the rank of lieutenant. He has taught navigation to yachtsmen and has served as a script adviser for television and films. He is the author of the best-selling "Richard Bolitho Novels." His books have been translated into nearly two dozen languages.

Review:

Critics of his first two books dubbed Kent a worthy successor to C.S. Forester. . . . This hardly seems fair for Kent's writing is fresh, singular, and worthy of judgement solely on its own high merit -- Philadelphia Bulletin

The sea story is one of the most enduring and enjoyable staples in popular literature. Tales of stout men under sail, hurling iron across the water at one another were absolute dynamite when Frederick Marryat held a huge readership wired to their seats in the early 19th century with his stories about Midshipman Easy. The Horatio Hornblower novels of C.S. Forester were among the most genuinely satisfying novels of the last forty years, and now that Alexander Kent is patrolling the same sea lanes, the stories are as good as ever . . .

Kent's winning hero is Richard Bolitho, who is squarely in the tradition of Captain Hornblower and Midshipman Easy. All of the heroic elements are here . . . Good, solid stuff that still packs a wallop and will probably continue to do so when another writer comes along 30 years from now to tell the old stories again to a new generation.

My heart still belongs to C.S. Forester because I grew up with him, but Alexander Kent is a worthy successor to the master -- The New York Times, July 18, 1976

There's nothing like a good sea novel as a setting for a protagonist who is a man's man-wise, humane, decisive and courageous. All the briny echoes of fictional marine heroes can be heard again in these rip-rousing tales of naval warfare . . . as the stalwart Bolitho gains the trust of his crew and admiration of his superiors. For adventure and action, a prize -- Saturday Evening Post, November 9, 1968

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780935526417: Midshipman Bolitho (The Bolitho Novels) (Volume 1)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0935526412 ISBN 13:  9780935526417
Publisher: McBooks Press, 1998
Softcover

9780399205149: Richard Bolitho: Midshipman

Putnam..., 1976
Hardcover

9780399610042: Richard Bolitho, midshipman

Putnam, 1976
Hardcover

9780099287100: Richard Bolitho-Midshipman

Sparro..., 1982
Softcover

9780091229702: RICHARD BOLITHO-MIDSHIPMAN

G P Pu..., 1976
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alexander Kent
Published by Arrow / Hutchinson (1977)
ISBN 10: 0099152002 ISBN 13: 9780099152002
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow / Hutchinson, 1977. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110099152002

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 61.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alexander Kent
Published by Arrow / Hutchinson (1977)
ISBN 10: 0099152002 ISBN 13: 9780099152002
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow / Hutchinson, 1977. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0099152002

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 86.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds