C. Vann Woodward The Future of the Past

ISBN 13: 9780195069037

The Future of the Past

3 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780195069037: The Future of the Past
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The late C. Vann Woodward was one of America's most prominent historians. His books have won every major history award--including the Pulitzer, Bancroft, and Parkman Prizes--and he has served as president of both the American Historical Association and the Organization of American Historians. The Future of the Past collects two decades worth of Woodward's most significant essays, addresses, and major book reviews, including two important presidential addresses--"The Future of the Past" and "Clio with Soul" (his trenchant assessment of Afro-American history)--as well as essays on changing historical concerns of the past decades, the value of comparative history, the South in Reconstruction times and the South today, and the use of fiction in history (and history in fiction). Woodward has written illuminating introductory comments on each section and offers an incisive general introduction about history and the direction the profession is taking today. Whether reviewing William Safire's novel Freedom or evaluating Henry Adam's portrait of Jefferson, Woodward's essays reflect a lifetime of thought on history and historical writing, and are essential reading for anyone concerned with either.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:


C. Vann Woodward is Sterling Professor of History Emeritus at Yale University. He is the author of many books, including The Battle for Leyte Gulf, The Burden of Southern History, and Reunion and Reaction.

Review:


"The Future of the Past, then, is Woodward the essayist in the tradition of Montaigne and Addison and Steele....Woodward...is still classier than the rest of us at our very best."--John Herbert Roper, The Journal of Southern History


"Woodward is a historian who knows what he thinks, and has known it for a long time. And the vision is compelling....These essays show a devoted attention to and care for the discipline of history, which he has served well."--The Journal of American History


"The essays of this tough-minded scholar are imbued with a generosity of spirit toward those with whom he takes issue and a charmingly self-depracatory attitude towards his own importance....Yet for all his genial comportment and engaging wit, Vann Woodward is a very serious man, for he believes strongly in the contribution that the historian can and should make to the humanistic enterprise of helping us understand ourselves and our times."--The Atlantic


"Few, if any American historians have achieved Woodward's imaginative ability to view the South, or the United States, from the other side of the globe: to see whites from a non-white perspective; to get to the soul and inner tensions of Tom Watson or Mary Chesnut."--The New York Review of Books


"These essays confirm the skill and good judgment of this subtle and profound scholar....In Woodward's hands, history remains an exciting venture. Highly recommended."--Library Journal


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 34.99
US$ 24.19

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780195057447: The Future of the Past

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0195057449 ISBN 13:  9780195057447
Publisher: Oxford University Press, 1989
Hardcover

9780195057041: The Future of the Past

Oxford...
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press Inc, United States (2002)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press Inc, United States, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.The late C. Vann Woodward was one of America s most prominent historians. His books have won every major history award--including the Pulitzer, Bancroft, and Parkman Prizes--and he has served as president of both the American Historical Association and the Organization of American Historians. The Future of the Past collects two decades worth of Woodward s most significant essays, addresses, and major book reviews, including two important presidential addresses-- The Future of the Past and Clio with Soul (his trenchant assessment of Afro-American history)--as well as essays on changing historical concerns of the past decades, the value of comparative history, the South in Reconstruction times and the South today, and the use of fiction in history (and history in fiction). Woodward has written illuminating introductory comments on each section and offers an incisive general introduction about history and the direction the profession is taking today. Whether reviewing William Safire s novel Freedom or evaluating Henry Adam s portrait of Jefferson, Woodward s essays reflect a lifetime of thought on history and historical writing, and are essential reading for anyone concerned with either. Seller Inventory # AAV9780195069037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press, United Kingdom (2002)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, United Kingdom, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The late C. Vann Woodward was one of America's most prominent historians. His books have won every major history award--including the Pulitzer, Bancroft, and Parkman Prizes--and he has served as president of both the American Historical Association and the Organization of American Historians. The Future of the Past collects two decades worth of Woodward's most significant essays, addresses, and major book reviews, including two important presidential addresses--"The Future of the Past" and "Clio with Soul" (his trenchant assessment of Afro-American history)--as well as essays on changing historical concerns of the past decades, the value of comparative history, the South in Reconstruction times and the South today, and the use of fiction in history (and history in fiction). Woodward has written illuminating introductory comments on each section and offers an incisive general introduction about history and the direction the profession is taking today. Whether reviewing William Safire's novel Freedom or evaluating Henry Adam's portrait of Jefferson, Woodward's essays reflect a lifetime of thought on history and historical writing, and are essential reading for anyone concerned with either. Seller Inventory # AAV9780195069037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Woodward, C. Vann
Published by Oxford University Press (2016)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2016; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780195069037_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

THE FUTURE OF THE PAST (PAPERBACK) -
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: NEW. 9780195069037 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE01584209

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.59
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by OUP USA (1991)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description OUP USA, 1991. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 4 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780195069037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by OUP USA (1991)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description OUP USA, 1991. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780195069037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (1991)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 1991. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX019506903X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1991. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M019506903X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 46.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

C. Vann. Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA. Paperback. Condition: New. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Seller Inventory # 9780195069037

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 50.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

C. Vann Woodward
Published by Oxford University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 019506903X ISBN 13: 9780195069037
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1991. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 384 pages. 8.50x5.50x1.00 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __019506903X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 46.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book