The Kafka Collection (Oxford World's Classics)

4.17 avg rating
( 103 ratings by Goodreads )
9780199655670: The Kafka Collection (Oxford World's Classics)

One of the giants of world literature, Franz Kafka in a relatively short life wrote both major modernist novels--The Trial, The Man Who Disappeared, and The Castle--and such classics of short fiction as "The Metamorphosis," "In the Penal Colony," and "The Hunger Artist." His matchless fiction shines a light on universal moral problems of guilt, responsibility, and freedom, and it exposes the mechanisms of power by which authorities subtly coerce and subjugate the citizen, as well as the individual's scope for resisting authority. Now, in The Kafka Collection, readers have a unique five-volume set that brings together the complete works of this renowned modernist master. Each book features a superb new translation by such well-known translators as Anthea Bell, Joyce Crick, Mike Mitchell, and Richie Robertson. In addition, each volume boasts an introduction by Ritchie Robertson, a leading Kafka scholar, who explores the many meanings of these famously enigmatic works, providing guidance with a wealth of explanatory notes. Each book includes a Biographical Preface which places Kafka within the context of his time, plus an up-to-date bibliography and chronology of Kafka's life.

About the Series: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ritchie Robertson (General Editor)(Translator, The Man Who Disappeared) is aTaylor Professor of German at Oxford University and co-director of the Oxford Kafka Research Center. He is the author of Kafka: A Very Short Introduction and the editor of The Cambridge Companion to Thomas Mann.

Joyce Crick (Translator, The Metamorphosis and Other Stories) (A Hunger Artist and Other Stories) taught German at University College London until her retirement. Her translation of Freud's The Interpretation of Dreams won the Shlegel-Tieck Prize in 2000.

Anthea Bell (Translator, The Castle) is a freelance translator and the winner of numerous awards for her work, including three Schlegel-Tieck Awards, the Wolff Award, and the Austrian State Prize for Literary Translation.

Mike Mitchell (Translator, The Trial) taught at the universities of Reading and Stirling before becoming a full-time translator. He has translated numerous works of German fiction for which he has been eight times shortlisted for prizes. His translation of Rosendorfer's Letters Back to Ancient China won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize in 1998.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want