The Engine of Complexity: Evolution as Computation

3.88 avg rating
( 34 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780231163040: The Engine of Complexity: Evolution as Computation
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science.

Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work's heart.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

A major new title in the tradition of Dawkins, Dennett, and Hofstadter providing deep and lucid insight into the computational underpinnings of evolution and complexity.

About the Author:

John E. Mayfield is professor emeritus of genetics, development, and cell biology at Iowa State University. He has also taught at the California Institute of Technology, Carnegie-Mellon University, and Harvard University Biological Laboratories. His research focuses on the development of a generalized theory of evolution that relates naturally and easily to fundamental mathematical and physical principles.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 45.00
US$ 36.92

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John E. Mayfield
Published by Columbia University Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science. Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work s heart. Seller Inventory # AAU9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

John Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19109698-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

John E. Mayfield
Published by Columbia University Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science. Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work s heart. Seller Inventory # AAU9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

John E. Mayfield
Published by Columbia University Press
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press. Hardback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

John Mayfield (author)
Published by Columbia University Press 2013-07-30, New York (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press 2013-07-30, New York, 2013. hardback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 31.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.65
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Mayfield, John E
Published by Columbia University Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press, 2013. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # BB-9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 28.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.47
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

John Mayfield
Published by Columbia University Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press, 2013. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9780231163040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.15
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

John Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0231163045. Seller Inventory # ST0231163045

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Mayfield, John
Published by Columbia University Press
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0231163045 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#IK239285

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

John Mayfield
Published by Columbia University Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Columbia University Press, 2013. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780231163040_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 43.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book