The End of Average: How to Succeed in a World that Values Sameness

4.04 avg rating
( 1,109 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780241184233: The End of Average: How to Succeed in a World that Values Sameness

In this book, praised as “groundbreaking” by the Telegraph and perfect for readers of The Power of Habit and Quiet, Harvard scientist Todd Rose shows how our one-size-fits-all world is actually one-size-fits-none

The End of Average shows how success lies in customizing to our individual needs in all aspects of our lives, from the way we mark tests to the medical treatment we receive.

All around us, we think, are the average people—with the average height, the average salary and the average house. But the average doesn’t just influence how we see ourselves; our entire social system has been built around this average-size-fits-all model. Schools are designed for the average student. Health care is designed for the average patient. Employers try to fill average job descriptions with employees on an average career trajectory. Our government implements programs and initiatives to serve the average person. For more than a century, we’ve believed that the best way to run our institutions is by focusing on the average person. But when you actually drill down into the numbers, you find an amazing fact: no one is average—which means that our society built for everyone is actually serving no one.

Using principles from “the Science of the Individual,” The End of Average shows how we can break down the average to create individualized success that benefits everyone in the long run. It’s time we stopped settling for average, and Todd Rose will show you how.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Are you above average? Is your child an A student? Is your employee an introvert or an extrovert? Every day we are measured against the yardstick of averages, judged according to how closely we come to it or how far we deviate from it.

The assumption that metrics comparing us to an average—like GPAs, personality test results, and performance review ratings—reveal something meaningful about our potential is so ingrained in our consciousness that we don’t even question it. That assumption, says Harvard’s Todd Rose, is spectacularly—and scientifically—wrong.

In The End of Average, Rose, a rising star in the new field of the science of the individual shows that no one is average. Not you. Not your kids. Not your employees. This isn’t hollow sloganeering—it’s a mathematical fact with enormous practical consequences. But while we know people learn and develop in distinctive ways, these unique patterns of behaviors are lost in our schools and businesses which have been designed around the mythical “average person.” This average-size-fits-all model ignores our differences and fails at recognizing talent. It’s time to change it.

Weaving science, history, and his personal experiences as a high school dropout, Rose offers a powerful alternative to understanding individuals through averages: the three principles of individuality. The jaggedness principle (talent is always jagged), the context principle (traits are a myth), and the pathways principle (we all walk the road less traveled) help us understand our true uniqueness—and that of others—and how to take full advantage of individuality to gain an edge in life.

Read this powerful manifesto in the ranks of Drive, Quiet, and Mindset—and you won’t see averages or talent in the same way again.

About the Author:

Todd Rose is the director of the  Mind, Brain, and Education program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education where he leads the Laboratory for the Science of the Individual. He is also the cofounder of The Center for Individual Opportunity, a non-profit organization that promotes the principles of individuality in work, school, and society. He lives  in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rose, Todd
Published by Allen Lane (2016)
ISBN 10: 0241184231 ISBN 13: 9780241184233
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Allen Lane, 2016. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. 9.13x6.57x1.11 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0241184231

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds