The Purpose Driven Life (QR Code Enhanced Edition): What on Earth Am I Here For?

3.89 avg rating
( 168,973 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780310334194: The Purpose Driven Life (QR Code Enhanced Edition): What on Earth Am I Here For?

Available for the first time, Rick Warren's#1 New York Times bestseller now includes forty unique QR Codes that link to exclusive videos of Rick Warren. These QR Code and video-based enhancements provide a cutting-edge, interactive experience to help you live out God's purpose for your life: reducing your stress, focusing your energy, simplifying your decisions, giving meaning to your life, and, most importantly, preparing you for eternity. A blueprint for Christian living in the 21st century, Warren offers his classic words of hope utilizing 21st century mobile and video technology for a whole new level of learning and engagement. Read, ponder, hear, and see Warren as he helps you discover the answer to life's fundamental question: What on earth am I here for? It's a fresh way to interact with a treasured book of hope that will be read, watched, and re-watched by you and by generations to come.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The spiritual premise in The Purpose-Driven Life is that there are no accidents---God planned everything and everyone. Therefore, every human has a divine purpose, according to God's master plan. Like a twist on John F. Kennedy's famous inaugural address, this book could be summed up like this: "So my fellow Christians, ask not what God can do for your life plan, ask what your life can do for God's plan." Those who are looking for advice on finding one's calling through career choice, creative expression, or any form of self-discovery should go elsewhere. This is not about self-exploration; it is about purposeful devotion to a Christian God. The book is set up to be a 40-day immersion plan, recognizing that the Bible favors the number 40 as a "spiritually significant time," according to author Rick Warren, the founding pastor of Saddleback Church in Lake Forest, California, touted as one of the nation largest congregations. Warren's hope is that readers will "interact" with the 40 chapters, reading them one day at a time, with extensive underlining and writing in the margins. As an inspirational manifesto for creating a more worshipful, church-driven life, this book delivers. Every page is laden with references to scripture or dogma. But it does not do much to address the challenges of modern Christian living, with its competing material, professional, and financial distractions. Nonetheless, this is probably an excellent resource for devout Christians who crave a jumpstart back to worshipfulness. -- Gail Hudson

From the Back Cover:

Another Landmark Book by Rick Warren

You are not an accident. Even before the universe was created, God had you in mind, and he planned you for his purposes. These purposes will extend far beyond the few years you will spend on earth. You were made to last forever!

Self-help books often suggest that you try to discover the meaning and purpose of your life by looking within yourself, but Rick Warren says that is the wrong place to start. You must begin with God, your Creator, and his reasons for creating you. You were made by God and for God, and until you understand that, life will never make sense.

This book will help you understand why you are alive and God’s amazing plan for you—both here and now, and for eternity. Rick Warren will guide you through a personal 40-day spiritual journey that will transform your answer to life’s most important question: What on earth am I here for? Knowing God’s purpose for creating you will reduce your stress, focus your energy, simplify your decisions, give meaning to your life, and, most importantly, prepare you for eternity.

The Purpose-Driven™ Life is a blueprint for Christian living in the 21st century—a lifestyle based on God’s eternal purposes, not cultural values. Using over 1,200 scriptural quotes and references, it challenges the conventional definitions of worship, fellowship, discipleship, ministry, and evangelism. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about.

This is a book of hope and challenge that you will read and re-read, and it will be a classic treasured by generations to come.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Warren, Rick
Published by Zondervan
ISBN 10: 0310334195 ISBN 13: 9780310334194
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Zondervan. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0310334195 Ships promptly from Texas. Bookseller Inventory # HCI4934AZGG030617H1200

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Warren, Rick
Published by Zondervan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0310334195 ISBN 13: 9780310334194
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Zondervan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0310334195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Warren, Rick
Published by Zondervan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0310334195 ISBN 13: 9780310334194
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Zondervan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110310334195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rick Warren
Published by Zondervan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0310334195 ISBN 13: 9780310334194
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Zondervan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Pap/Psc En. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0310334195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds