Ten Things I Learned from Bill Porter

3.79 avg rating
( 187 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780340836606: Ten Things I Learned from Bill Porter

Born with cerebral palsy, life for Bill Porter presented many challenges. But he was not going to let that get in the way of living a full and enriching life. Told by so many that he was unemployable, Bill was determined to support himself financially and without state disability aid. So began his employment as a door-to-door salesman for the Watkins company - a job that was to see him become their most successful salesperson in the USA. Written by Shelly Brady, a close friend who first worked for Bill as a teenager, this book marks the triumph of an indomitable spirit that knows no limits. "Ten Things" shares with us the story of Bill's life and the valuable lessons Shelly learned from this most remarkable man. The 'ten things' that frame the narrative are simple but powerful gifts of wisdom that can teach us to live profoundly happy and fulfilled lives. Heartwarming and uplifting in the vein of "Tuesdays With Morrie" and "Hannah's Gift", it is an inspiration to all of us moving through life without disability, but with perhaps greater resistance to living fully.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Shelly Brady first worked for Bill Porter as a teenager, and again as an adult. She and Bill now travel the US as motivational speakers, using the lessons of Bill's remarkable story as inspiration for all. Shelly lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and six children.

Review:

'We love TEN THINGS I LEARNED FROM BILL PORTER... a testament to courage, love, the power of relationships and optimism of spirit. An amazing gift.' -- Top Sante 20031201 Incredible inspiration about the power of the spirit on every page. Uplifting.' -- Health & Fitness 20030901 'Bill Porter is a sterling example that each of us can overcome any adversity, setback or handicap. Bill is inspirational to everyone.' -- Mark Victor Hansen, co-creator, NYT bestselling CH 20030901 'Oftentimes, a disability or a disease will drain the life out of a person -- in Bill Porter's case, it seems to have done the opposite. He is an example and inspiration to us all.' -- Dr Stephen R. Covey, author of THE 7 HABITS OF HIG 20030901 ' ... Shelly's thoughtful storytelling of how Bill has lived his life will inspire you and prove that anything is possible. A wonderful story and a wonderful book!' -- Cynthia Kersey, author of UNSTOPPABLE 20030901

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shelly Brady
Published by Hodder Mobius (2005)
ISBN 10: 0340836601 ISBN 13: 9780340836606
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Mobius, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000060502

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brady, Shelly
Published by Hodder Paperbacks (2005)
ISBN 10: 0340836601 ISBN 13: 9780340836606
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Paperbacks, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000432825

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Shelly Brady
Published by Hodder Mobius (2005)
ISBN 10: 0340836601 ISBN 13: 9780340836606
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hodder Mobius, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0340836601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds