Jeanne Birdsall The Penderwicks in Spring

ISBN 13: 9780375970771

The Penderwicks in Spring

4.41 avg rating
( 5,258 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780375970771: The Penderwicks in Spring
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
 
Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.
 
Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.
 
Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

When Jeanne Birdsall was young, she promised herself she’d be a writer someday—so that she could write books for children to discover and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, The Penderwicks on Gardam Street, and The Penderwicks at Point Mouette.
 
Jeanne lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband and an assortment of animals, including a dog named Cagney. You can find out more about Jeanne, her books, and her animal friends at JeanneBirdsall.com.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 4–7—The Penderwick family is back in the fourth book of Birdsall's popular series. With the addition of younger sister Lydia and the recent death of beloved dog Hound, the cast of characters has changed a bit. Though told from the perspectives of Batty and Ben—the younger brother added to the clan in The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (Knopf, 2008)—this is truly Batty's story. Rosalind is in college, and Skye and Jane are both in high school. In this volume, Batty discovers that she has a talent for singing, which she keeps a secret from the rest of her family so that she can plan a Grand Birthday Concert. Jeffrey, their family friend, will be visiting for Skye's birthday, and Batty wants to ask him to be her mentore. She also takes on a job walking dogs to pay for voice lessons. She's conflicted about this because she believes that it was her fault that Hound died and she doesn't want to "curse" any more dogs. Fans of the series may find the time jump jarring—Batty, who was only four during the first book, is now 10—and the lack of OPS (Older Penderwick Sisters) dismaying. Throughout the series, Birdsall has demonstrated considerable skill at crafting a modern classic, merging modern-day wit with an old-fashioned charm. Birdsall is a master at making the everyday exciting. VERDICT This latest addition to the beloved series ends on a satisfying note, and readers will eagerly await the final book.—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780307930989: The Penderwicks in Spring

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  030793098X ISBN 13:  9780307930989
Publisher: Yearling, 2016
Softcover

9780375870774: The Penderwicks in Spring

Knopf ..., 2015
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jeanne Birdsall
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0375970770 ISBN 13: 9780375970771
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0375970770

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Birdsall, Jeanne
Published by Alfred a Knopf Inc (2015)
ISBN 10: 0375970770 ISBN 13: 9780375970771
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Alfred a Knopf Inc, 2015. Library Binding. Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. 8.75x6.25x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 0375970770

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Birdsall, Jeanne
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0375970770 ISBN 13: 9780375970771
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2015. Library Binding. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110375970770

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 44.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Jeanne Birdsall
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0375970770 ISBN 13: 9780375970771
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2015. Library Binding. Condition: New. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0375970770n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 87.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds