Alden R. Carter Up Country

ISBN 13: 9780399215834

Up Country

4.04 avg rating
( 114 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780399215834: Up Country
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When his mother's drinking problem causes him to spend several months with country relatives in upstate Wisconsin, sixteen-year-old Carl begins to build a new life for himself, only to see it threatened by a serious mistake from his painful past

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alden R. Carter (www.aldencarter.com) is an award-winning author of nine novels, twenty books of nonfiction, and six picture books. His books for young adults include ALA Best Books for Young Adults Bull Catcher and Between a Rock and a Hard Place. Mr. Carter lives with his family in Wisconsin.

From Publishers Weekly:

In the tradition of S. E. Hinton, Carter unveils the sensitive side of a streetwise loner from a troubled background. Carl, 16, electronics genius and social outcast, escapes his alcoholic mother and her entourage of men by moving to the basement. He starts a business repairing stolen stereo equipment for Steve, a local hood. The operation comes to a halt when his mother is arrested and Carl is placed in his aunt's custody. Before he has time to clear the house of incriminating evidence, Carl is sent upstate to a town filled with "ignorant hicks." Much of the novel devotes itself to Carl's adjustment to small-town life and the gradual breakdown of his defenses. From shattered pieces of old dreams, he formulates new plans; but life is disrupted again when his criminal past is revealed. The two locales of this novel, Milwaukee and Blind River, provide an effective contrast and allow fast-paced action to be balanced with quieter, more reflective scenes that focus on Carl's growth. Carter tends both to over-dramatize the evils of city life and to exaggerate the naivete of country people. Nonetheless, he renders an honest, detailed portrait of one young man's struggle to find himself. Ages 13-up.
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 15.95
US$ 67.74

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alden R. Carter
Published by Putnam Juvenile (1989)
ISBN 10: 0399215832 ISBN 13: 9780399215834
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Putnam Juvenile, 1989. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0399215832

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 67.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds