Watching Babylon: The War in Iraq and Global Visual Culture

3.42 avg rating
( 19 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780415343107: Watching Babylon: The War in Iraq and Global Visual Culture

Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.

Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.

In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nicholas Mirzoeff is Professor of Media, Culture and Communication at New York University. He is the author of Bodyscape; Art, Modernity and the Ideal Figure (1995) and An Introduction to Visual Culture (1999), and the editor of The Visual Culture Reader (second edition 2002).

Review:

"A tour de force by perhaps the most inventive--certainly the most wide-ranging-- practitioner of visual culture analysis in the world today. Focusing on the deadly vacuity of the Iraq Invasion, Mirzoeff describes the global media war with an unusually subtle attentiveness to its visual dimensions. More importantly, he situates his response inside a broader picturing of how globalizing capital and resurgent nation states are creating what he calls 'an empire of camps." - Terry Smith, University of Pittsburgh

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mirzoeff, N.
Published by Taylor Fransis
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Taylor Fransis. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0415343100

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media. Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day. In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict. Bookseller Inventory # AAW9780415343107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 32.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mirzoeff, Nicholas
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Quantity Available: 12
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VT-9780415343107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media. Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day. In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780415343107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Taylor Francis Ltd, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media. Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day. In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict. Bookseller Inventory # AAW9780415343107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

MIRZOEFF, NICHOLAS.
Published by Routledge (2017)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Routledge, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780415343107 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Print on Demand title, produced to the highest standard, and there would be a delay in dispatch of around 10 working days. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0203880

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mirzoeff, Nicholas (Author)
Published by Routledge (2005)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Routledge, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 203 pages. 8.25x5.25x0.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0415343100

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 34.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Routledge (2005)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Routledge, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0415343100

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Routledge (2004)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Routledge, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0415343100

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 54.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Nicholas Mirzoeff
Published by Routledge (2004)
ISBN 10: 0415343100 ISBN 13: 9780415343107
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Routledge, 2004. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TV9780415343107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.53
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book