Items related to The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley

The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley - Softcover

3.81 avg rating
( 779 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780439486231: The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
A wonderfully human and humane debut from the Australian Kate DiCamillo

Cedar B. Hartley is exasperating and potentially infamous.
She steps on cracks. She plans to live an unusual life. She is the winner of her school's Bat Pole Championship (which she made up). She misses her brother Barnaby, who ran away, and who sends her postcards from all over. And she's definitely a hopeless winker.
But Cedar B. Hartley has potential. She knows the long distance between an idea and the real thing. And she has a green thumb for people -- which will come in handy as she discovers truths about her friends, her family, and her life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
"After all, if you don’t ask the world questions, then you won’t ever work out where the rainbow begins." And, boy, does Cedar B. Hartley have questions! Like, why won’t her Mum tell her about her father, who died when Cedar was a baby? And what happened to her older brother Barnaby, who ran away from boarding school and keeps in touch sporadically through cryptic postcards? The only thing that helps Cedar forget these troubling questions is her new hobby; acrobatics. When she goes tumbling with her new friend Kite, who can fly just like the bird he was named for, she comes close to finding the start of that elusive rainbow. Missing brothers, mysterious fathers, and the funny, more-than-friends feeling she has for Kite aren't going to keep Cedar B. Hartley from finding the answers she’s looking for to fulfill her plan for an "unusual life!"

Debut Australian author Martine Murray is a writer to watch. Equal parts Pippi Longstocking and Anastasia Krupnik, her audacious Aussie tomboy Cedar will quickly charm the Capri pants off the female pre-teen set with her pithy sayings and sweet naiveté. A thoughtfully placed glossary of Cedar’s slang is included at the end of the novel for those young readers unfamiliar with the jargon "down-under." A delightful must-read for fans of Paula Danziger and Jacqueline Wilson. (Ages 12 and older) --Jennifer Hubert

About the Author:
Martine Murray is the author of THE SLIGHTLY TRUE STORY OF CEDAR B. HARTLEY, which received three starred reviews and was named to Booklist's roundup of Top Ten First Novels for Youth. She lives in Victoria, Australia.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherScholastic Paperbacks
  • Publication date2004
  • ISBN 10 0439486238
  • ISBN 13 9780439486231
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages240
  • Rating
    3.81 avg rating
    ( 779 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780439486224: The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780439486224
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books, 2003
Hardcover

9780330415422: The Slightly True Story of Cedar B. Hartley (Who Planned to Live an Unusual Life)

Pan Ma..., 2003
Softcover

9781865086231: The Slightly True Story of Cedar B.Hartley: (Who Planned to Live an Unusual Life)

Allen ..., 2002
Softcover

9780330415439: The Slightly True Story of Cedar B.Hartley : (Who Planned to Live an Unusual Life)

Pan Ch..., 2004
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Murray, Martine
Published by Scholastic Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0439486238 ISBN 13: 9780439486231
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_0439486238

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 52.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Murray, Martine
Published by Scholastic Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0439486238 ISBN 13: 9780439486231
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think0439486238

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 90.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Murray, Martine
Published by Scholastic Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0439486238 ISBN 13: 9780439486231
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grumpys Fine Books
(Tijeras, NM, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Prompt service guaranteed. Seller Inventory # Clean0439486238

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 90.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Murray, Martine
Published by Scholastic Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0439486238 ISBN 13: 9780439486231
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard0439486238

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 95.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Murray, Martine
Published by Scholastic Paperbacks (2004)
ISBN 10: 0439486238 ISBN 13: 9780439486231
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(LOS ANGELES, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. In shrink wrap. Looks like an interesting title! 0.48. Seller Inventory # Q-0439486238

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 95.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.92
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds