D. W. Buffa The Legacy

ISBN 13: 9780446613682

The Legacy

3.67 avg rating
( 203 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780446613682: The Legacy
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Lone wolf lawyer Joseph Antonelli takes the case of a black man accused of murdering a senator in San Francisco. Antonelli soon finds himself in a world ruled by backroom politics and naked ambition--and learns just how much one person will risk in order to leave behind a legacy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Whoever shot and killed U.S. Senator Jeremy Fullerton may have wanted more than his wallet--the ambitious politician had as many enemies as supporters. Portland criminal lawyer Joseph Antonelli is hired to defend the young black Berkeley student who was caught fleeing the crime scene, since no local lawyer wants to risk his reputation on a case that might uncover secrets some very powerful members of the San Francisco establishment would prefer to keep buried. Joe doesn't believe Fullerton died in what the bench, bar, and press have characterized as a "random act of violence"--furthermore, he's convinced that his client, Jamal Washington, is innocent. But in order to prove it, he must uncover those same secrets others have killed to protect, and if he's not careful, he may end up as their next victim. The key to Washington's defense is a Manchurian Candidate-like conspiracy set in motion long ago, one that ultimately unfolds in an Italian village in a surprising denouement only the most discerning reader will have guessed at. D.W. Buffa excels at describing the courtroom tactics of his smart, thoughtful protagonist--he's more of a pro than most other writers of legal thrillers--and he's a deft hand with pacing, too. Fans of Grisham and Turow who haven't yet made Buffa's acquaintance are in for a very satisfying read. --Jane Adams

From AudioFile:

Attorney Joseph Antonelli leaves Oregon to take a case no San Francisco lawyer will touch. U.S. Senator Jeremy Fullerton is murdered on a pea-soup foggy night. Jamaal is accused but pleads innocent; and while Antonelli digs to find the truth, life becomes dangerous for all involved. Mark Feuerstein reads the narration with a clear, strong voice, pausing definitively at each period. His characterizations are colorful, and his accents provide wonderful verbal images of the speakers. As the action speeds up, Feuerstein maintains his steady and unemotional narration. M.B.K. © AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

D. W. Buffa
Published by Grand Central Publishing (2003)
ISBN 10: 0446613681 ISBN 13: 9780446613682
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing, 2003. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0446613681

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Buffa, D. W.
Published by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN 10: 0446613681 ISBN 13: 9780446613682
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0446613681 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0165270

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 79.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

D. W. Buffa
ISBN 10: 0446613681 ISBN 13: 9780446613682
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STR-0446613681

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 103.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

D. W. Buffa
Published by Grand Central Publishing (2003)
ISBN 10: 0446613681 ISBN 13: 9780446613682
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Grand Central Publishing, 2003. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0446613681

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 796.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds