Yalom When Nietzsche Wept Preprint

ISBN 13: 9780465091706

When Nietzsche Wept Preprint

4.28 avg rating
( 31,564 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780465091706: When Nietzsche Wept Preprint
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A richly evocative novel set in nineteenth-century Vienna on the eve of the birth of psychoanalysis - By the best-selling author of Love's Executioner. A powerful blend of truth and fiction, in the tradition of The White Hotel and The Seven Percent Solution. The story begins with a strange bargain. The eminent physician Josef Breuer his asked to treated Friendrich Nietzche's suicidal despair after the end of a love affair-without his knowing it. Breuer himself is no stranger to despair, suffering from an obsessive and destructive passion for a former patient. He devises an ingenious approach: Using his experimental "talking cure", he will heal Nietzche ,who viewed himself as physician of culture, is forced to apply his theories to flesh-and-blood human beings in curing his own nihilism, as well as Breuner's. Irvin D. Yalom, M.D., is the author of "Love's Executioner. Every Day Gets a Little Closer, and best-selling textbooks in psychotherapy. He is Professor of Psychiatry at Standford University. He lives in Palo Alto,California.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Yalom
Published by Basic Books Inc.,U.S.
ISBN 10: 0465091709 ISBN 13: 9780465091706
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books Inc.,U.S. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0465091709 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW7.0174719

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds