Items related to The Coalwood Way (The Coalwood Series #2)

The Coalwood Way (The Coalwood Series #2) - Hardcover

9780606251600: The Coalwood Way (The Coalwood Series #2)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
Continuing the story of the Rocket Boys of Coalwood, West Virginia, the author recounts his senior year in high school, while the forces of change bring Coalwood to a difficult crossroads and strain threatens to tear apart the Hickam home.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

In this follow-up to his bestselling autobiography Rocket Boys, Homer Hickam chronicles the eventful autumn of 1959 in his hometown, the West Virginia mining town of Coalwood. Sixteen-year-old Homer and his pals in the Big Creek Missile Agency are high school seniors, still building homemade rockets and hoping that science will provide them with a ticket into the wider world of college and white-collar jobs. Such dreams make them suspect in a conservative small town where "getting above yourself" is the ultimate sin and where Homer's father, superintendent of the Coalwood mines, is stingy with praise and dubious about his son's ambitions. Homer's mother remains supportive, but bluntly reminds him, "You can't expect everything to go your way. Sometimes life just has another plan." Indeed, Hickam's unvarnished portrait of Coalwood covers class warfare (union miners battling with his authoritarian father), provincial narrow-mindedness (the local ladies scorn a young woman living outside wedlock with a man who abuses her), and endless gossiping along the picket "fence line." These sharp details make the unabashed sentiment of the book's closing chapters feel earned rather than easy. Hickam can spin a gripping yarn and keep multiple underlying themes and metaphors going at the same time. His tender but gritty memoir will touch readers' hearts and minds. --Wendy Smith
From the Inside Flap:
From the #1 bestselling author of October Sky comes this rich, unforgettable tale. With the same dazzling storytelling that distinguished his first memoir, Homer Hickam takes us deeper into the soul of his West Virginia hometown at a moment when its unique way of life is buffeted by forces of time and change.
It is fall 1959. Homer "Sonny" Hickam and his fellow Rocket Boys are in their senior year at Big Creek High, and the town of Coalwood finds itself at a painful crossroads.
The strains can be felt within the Hickam home, where Homer Sr. struggles to save the mine, and his wife, Elsie, is feeling increasingly isolated from both her family and the townspeople. Sonny, despite a blossoming relationship with a local girl, finds his own mood darkened by an unexplainable sadness.
Then, with the holidays approaching, trouble at the mine and the arrival of a beautiful young outsider bring unexpected changes in both the Hickam family and the town of Coalwood ... as this luminous memoir moves toward its poignant conclusion.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherDemco Media
  • ISBN 10 060625160X
  • ISBN 13 9780606251600
  • BindingHardcover
  • Rating

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780440237167: The Coalwood Way: A Memoir

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0440237165 ISBN 13:  9780440237167
Publisher: Island Books, 2001

  • 9780385335164: The Coalwood Way (The Coalwood Series #2)

    Delaco..., 2000

  • 9780756907709: The Coalwood Way

    Turtle..., 2001
    Library Binding

  • 9780375430879: The Coalwood Way (The Coalwood Series #2)

    Random..., 2000

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace