Absolutely American: Four Years at West Point

3.95 avg rating
( 1,021 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780618095421: Absolutely American: Four Years at West Point
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Lipsky, a Rolling Stone writer and an award-winning novelist, chronicles daily life at the U.S. Military Academy during the most tumultuous period in its history.

In 1998, West Point made David Lipsky an unprecedented offer: stay at the Academy as long as you like, go wherever you wish, talk to whomever you want, to discover why some of America's most promising young people sacrifice so much to become cadets. Lipsky followed one cadet class into mess halls, barracks, classrooms, bars, and training exercises, from arrival through graduation. By telling their stories, he also examines the Academy as a reflection of our society: Are its principles of equality, patriotism, and honor quaint anachronisms or is it still, as Theodore Roosevelt called it, the most "absolutely American" institution?
During arguably the most eventful four years in West Point's history, Lipsky witnesses the arrival of TVs and phones in dorm rooms, the end of hazing, and innumerable other shifts in policy and practice known collectively as The Changes. He uncovers previously unreported scandals and poignantly evokes the aftermath of September 11, when cadets must prepare to become officers in wartime.
Absolutely American spotlights a remarkable ensemble of characters: a former Eagle Scout who struggles with every facet of the program, from classwork to marching; a foul-mouthed party animal who hates the military and came to West Point to play football; a farm-raised kid who seems to be the perfect soldier, despite his affection for the early work of Georgia O’Keeffe; and an exquisitely turned-out female cadet who aspires to "a career in hair and nails" after the Army. These cadets and their classmates are transformed in fascinating, sometimes astonishing, ways by one of America's most mythologized and least understood challenges. Many of them thrive under the rigorous regimen; others battle endlessly just to survive it. A few give up the fight altogether.
Lipsky's extensive experience covering college students for Rolling Stone helped him gain an exceptional degree of trust and candor from both cadets and administrators. They offer frank insights on drug use, cheating, romance, loyalty, duty, patriotism, and the Army's tortuous search for meaning as new threats loom.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Individuality would not seem to be a highly prized virtue at West Point. After all, new cadets arriving at the military academy are not required to pack anything more than a toothbrush and some underwear since they will be issued everything else. But despite their uniformity and disciplined bearing, the cadets profiled in David Lipsky's Absolutely American are still college kids who have moved away from their hometowns to figure out what to do with their lives. Lipsky was given unprecedented access at West Point and spent a full four years following a class from wide-eyed arrival through graduation. The most fascinating cadets are the ones who don't fit the gung-ho West Point stereotype. George Rash faces expulsion on a regular basis but persistently hangs in, "Huck" Finn just wants to play football but becomes more enamored of the military life than he ever expected, and Christi Cicerelle stays perfectly coiffed and, as she says, "girly," even while becoming a highly skilled soldier. Lipsky's tenure came at a pivotal time in the institution's history: hazing had recently been discontinued (part of a series of reforms referred to with both gravity and a little remorse as "The Changes") and the attacks of September 11, 2001 placed the United States in a war which the cadets would have to fight. The academy, in Lipsky's portrayal, demands much of its charges, its standards are high, and the possibility of being "separated" from West Point looms large for any cadet not up to par. Yet the cadets are shown as largely happy people, using the harsh demands of a West Point experience to find the kind of structure and purpose that other college students would envy. Lipsky, a contributing editor at Rolling Stone, creates portraits that are, by turns, hilarious, touching, harrowing, disappointing and joyful. As his subjects finally graduate and launch their careers, readers may feel like a proud parent or friend standing in the crowd and cheering their accomplishments. --John Moe

From the Back Cover:

"Absolutely amazing. Lipsky doesn't just get close to his characters. He's inside their skin. With a laser eye for every telling detail, and with glistening prose, he delivers an uncannily intimate chronicle of West Point life. This is the rare work of non-fiction that actually does read like a gripping novel."
-- John Colapinto, author of As Nature Made Him and About the Author

"A remarkable achievement. This superbly written account offers an unprecedented look inside one of America’s most mythic places. It is absolutely engrossing."
-- Kevin Baker, author of Dreamland and Paradise Alley

"Absolutely American has the feel of a classic, a book that will be read for years, by the military-minded of course, but also by everyone with the imagination to see their life as a test, the results of which go right into the permanent record. In addition to being one of our best writers and storytellers, David Lipsky has a great pair of eyes. He has taken the military experience and turned it into poetry, as smooth and elegant and purposeful as the sound made by a column of marching soldiers."
-- Rich Cohen, author of Tough Jews and Lake Effect

"A deeply insightful, brilliantly revealing book about the highs and lows of being a West Point cadet. In the tradition of Tom Wolfe, Hunter S. Thompson, and George Plimpton, David Lipsky embedded himself at the U.S. Military Academy, hoping to deflate its time-honored myths. He succeeded. Absolutely American is an unqualified page turner."
-- Douglas Brinkley, Director of the Eisenhower Center, author of Wheels for the World and The American Heritage History of the United States

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin. Hardcover. Condition: New. 061809542X Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z061809542XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin. Hardcover. Condition: New. 061809542X . Seller Inventory # Z061809542XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin (2003)
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MVE Inc
(Hickory, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. perfect. Seller Inventory # 690-4466501575

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

David Lipsky
Published by Houghton Mifflin (2003)
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin, 2003. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M061809542X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

David Lipsky
Published by Houghton Mifflin (2003)
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX061809542X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin College, Boston, MA (2003)
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
a2zbooks
(Burgin, KY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin College, Boston, MA, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. Appears never opened, Never used. Very light edge wear to DJ. Very nice looking Quantity Available: 1. ISBN: 061809542x. ISBN/EAN: 9780618095421. Pictures of this item not already displayed here available upon request. Inventory No: 1560784465. Seller Inventory # 1560784465

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

David Lipsky
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Seller Inventory # RP061809542XBN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin (2003)
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11061809542X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lipsky, David
Published by Houghton Mifflin
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin. Hardcover. Condition: New. 061809542X Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Seller Inventory # XM-061809542X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 32.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lipsky, David
ISBN 10: 061809542X ISBN 13: 9780618095421
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Golden Bridge Books
(Ottawa, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company in 2003. NEW. Quality Books. Because We Care - Shipped from Canada. Usually ships within 1-2 business days. If you buy this book from us, we will donate a book to a local school. We donate 10,000+ books to local schools every year. Seller Inventory # R13247C

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 19.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book