James Gleick Chaos : making a new science

ISBN 13: 9780747404132

Chaos : making a new science

3.99 avg rating
( 26,188 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780747404132: Chaos : making a new science
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick—the author of Time Travel: A History—that reveals the science behind chaos theory

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Few writers distinguish themselves by their ability to write about complicated, even obscure topics clearly and engagingly. James Gleick, a former science writer for the New York Times, resides in this exclusive category. In Chaos, he takes on the job of depicting the first years of the study of chaos--the seemingly random patterns that characterize many natural phenomena.

This is not a purely technical book. Instead, it focuses as much on the scientists studying chaos as on the chaos itself. In the pages of Gleick's book, the reader meets dozens of extraordinary and eccentric people. For instance, Mitchell Feigenbaum, who constructed and regulated his life by a 26-hour clock and watched his waking hours come in and out of phase with those of his coworkers at Los Alamos National Laboratory.

As for chaos itself, Gleick does an outstanding job of explaining the thought processes and investigative techniques that researchers bring to bear on chaos problems. Rather than attempt to explain Julia sets, Lorenz attractors, and the Mandelbrot Set with gigantically complicated equations, Chaos relies on sketches, photographs, and Gleick's wonderful descriptive prose.

From the Publisher:

Read by Michael Jackson (the radio host).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

GLEICK, James
Published by Cardinal (1991)
ISBN 10: 0747404135 ISBN 13: 9780747404132
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cardinal, 1991. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110747404135

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 55.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

James GLEICK
Published by Cardinal (1991)
ISBN 10: 0747404135 ISBN 13: 9780747404132
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cardinal, 1991. Paperback. Condition: New. New Ed. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0747404135n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 110.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds