Sarah Sullivan All That's Missing

ISBN 13: 9780763661021

All That's Missing

3.78 avg rating
( 166 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780763661021: All That's Missing

When his grandfather’s dementia raises the specter of foster care, Arlo flees to find his only other family member in this genuine, heartening novel.

Arlo’s grandfather travels in time. Not literally — he just mixes up the past with the present. Arlo holds on as best he can, fixing himself cornflakes for dinner and paying back the owner of the corner store for the sausages Poppo eats without remembering to pay. But how long before someone finds out that Arlo is taking care of the grandfather he lives with instead of the other way around? When Poppo lands in the hospital and a social worker comes to take charge, Arlo’s fear of foster care sends him alone across three hundred miles. Armed with a name and a town, Arlo finds his only other family member — the grandmother he doesn’t remember ever meeting. But just finding her isn’t enough to make them a family. Unfailingly honest and touched with a dash of magical realism, Sarah Sullivan’s evocative debut novel delves into a family mystery and unearths universal truths about home, trust, friendship, and strength — all the things a boy needs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sarah Sullivan is the author of Dear Baby: Letters from Your Big Brother and Passing the Music Down. This is her first novel. Sarah Sullivan has an MFA in writing for children from Vermont College and lives in West Virginia.

Review:

It’s rare to find a quiet, reflective middle-grade novel with a boy as the main character, and rarer still to find one this satisfying. ... With touches of magical realism, and a crime caper thrown in for good measure, this gentle book explores how every family has some question nobody wants to answer.
—Cleveland Plain Dealer

Sullivan’s debut novel beautifully balances the big issues in Arlo’s life with his smaller, more immediate concerns: his dog, an adventurous friend, and the magic of a wooden eagle carved by his father. The characters’ race is often left ambiguous, allowing readers to envision for themselves. Filled with heart, this will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie or Eva Ibbotson’s One Dog and His Boy.
—Booklist

There’s no pretension in this simple but deep story... A playful air of mystery hangs over the second half of the novel, and there are even tinges of a good ghost story... Art history buffs will especially appreciate the fact that the final reveal involves a long-lost painting, but the carefully detailed development of a boy learning how to deal with being caught in-between will appeal to a wide range of readers.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

Some suspense, much heartache, a few tears, and smiles all tie together nicely in the end to create an outstanding debut novel.
—VOYA

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sullivan, Sarah
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 16
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY82M008FME

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sullivan, Sarah
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VQ-9780763661021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

SULLIVAN, SARAH
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0763661023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sullivan, Sarah
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780763661021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sullivan Sarah
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. When his grandfather s dementia raises the specter of foster care, Arlo flees to find his only other family member in this genuine, heartening novel. Arlo s grandfather travels in time. Not literally -- he just mixes up the past with the present. Arlo holds on as best he can, fixing himself cornflakes for dinner and paying back the owner of the corner store for the sausages Poppo eats without remembering to pay. But how long before someone finds out that Arlo is taking care of the grandfather he lives with instead of the other way around? When Poppo lands in the hospital and a social worker comes to take charge, Arlo s fear of foster care sends him alone across three hundred miles. Armed with a name and a town, Arlo finds his only other family member -- the grandmother he doesn t remember ever meeting. But just finding her isn t enough to make them a family. Unfailingly honest and touched with a dash of magical realism, Sarah Sullivan s evocative debut novel delves into a family mystery and unearths universal truths about home, trust, friendship, and strength -- all the things a boy needs. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780763661021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sullivan, Sarah
Published by Candlewick
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0763661023 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132094548

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sullivan Sarah
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. When his grandfather s dementia raises the specter of foster care, Arlo flees to find his only other family member in this genuine, heartening novel. Arlo s grandfather travels in time. Not literally -- he just mixes up the past with the present. Arlo holds on as best he can, fixing himself cornflakes for dinner and paying back the owner of the corner store for the sausages Poppo eats without remembering to pay. But how long before someone finds out that Arlo is taking care of the grandfather he lives with instead of the other way around? When Poppo lands in the hospital and a social worker comes to take charge, Arlo s fear of foster care sends him alone across three hundred miles. Armed with a name and a town, Arlo finds his only other family member -- the grandmother he doesn t remember ever meeting. But just finding her isn t enough to make them a family. Unfailingly honest and touched with a dash of magical realism, Sarah Sullivan s evocative debut novel delves into a family mystery and unearths universal truths about home, trust, friendship, and strength -- all the things a boy needs. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780763661021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sullivan Sarah
Published by Candlewick Press,U.S., United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick Press,U.S., United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. When his grandfather s dementia raises the specter of foster care, Arlo flees to find his only other family member in this genuine, heartening novel. Arlo s grandfather travels in time. Not literally -- he just mixes up the past with the present. Arlo holds on as best he can, fixing himself cornflakes for dinner and paying back the owner of the corner store for the sausages Poppo eats without remembering to pay. But how long before someone finds out that Arlo is taking care of the grandfather he lives with instead of the other way around? When Poppo lands in the hospital and a social worker comes to take charge, Arlo s fear of foster care sends him alone across three hundred miles. Armed with a name and a town, Arlo finds his only other family member -- the grandmother he doesn t remember ever meeting. But just finding her isn t enough to make them a family. Unfailingly honest and touched with a dash of magical realism, Sarah Sullivan s evocative debut novel delves into a family mystery and unearths universal truths about home, trust, friendship, and strength -- all the things a boy needs. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780763661021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sullivan, Sarah
Published by Candlewick (2013)
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0763661023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Sullivan, Sarah
Published by Candlewick
ISBN 10: 0763661023 ISBN 13: 9780763661021
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Candlewick. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0763661023. Bookseller Inventory # Z0763661023ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book