Berserker's Star (Berserker Saga)

3.71 avg rating
( 115 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780765343215: Berserker's Star (Berserker Saga)

Fred Saberhagen continues his Berserker Series®, a chronicle of a war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction. Pilot Harry Silver's name is know throughout the galaxy. While he has defeated his share of Berserkers, he has also stolen a powerful weapon from the Space Force, making him a fugitive from the life he once knew. Looking for an adventure Harry agrees to bring a passenger aboard his ship: Lily, a woman who is on a quest to retrieve her husband.

It won't be easy, as Lily's husband has joined a secretive religious cult on Maracanda, an almost-planet lodged between a shifting black hole and a neutron star. While the landscape of Maracanda is treacherous, so too, may be the people around Harry Silver. For as the search for Lily's husband deepens, Harry finds himself investigating a larger mystery and looking for missing persons, almost ending up one himself.

And, as always, there is the threat of death from above, in the path of a machine whose only intent is to kill.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"The Berserkers, in their single-minded pursuit of their preprogrammed course of destruction, attain a kind of perverse stature that makes them worthy stand-ins for the dark side of human nature."--The New York Times

Fred Saberhagen continues his Berserker Series®, a chronicle of a war between humanity and the terrifying race of sentient machines bent on death and destruction. Pilot Harry Silver's name is know throughout the galaxy. While he has defeated his share of Berserkers, he has also stolen a powerful weapon from the Space Force, making him a fugitive from the life he once knew. Looking for an adventure Harry agrees to bring a passenger aboard his ship: Lily, a woman who is on a quest to retrieve her husband.

It won't be easy, as Lily's husband has joined a secretive religious cult on Maracanda, an almost-planet lodged between a shifting black hole and a neutron star. While the landscape of Maracanda is treacherous, so too, may be the people around Harry Silver. For as the search for Lily's husband deepens, Harry finds himself investigating a larger mystery and looking for missing persons, almost ending up one himself.

And, as always, there is the threat of death from above, in the path of a machine whose only intent is to kill.

"The Berserker stories are war stories, but war stories in the tradition of The Red Badge of Courage and All Quiet on the Western Front." --The Baltimore Evening Sun

"These homicidal robots manage to make Aliens look like wimps." --Science Fiction Age

About the Author:

In addition to the popular Dracula Series, Fred Saberhagen is the author of the popular Berserker (tm) Series and the bestselling Lost Swords and Book of Lost Swords. Fred Saberhagen lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Saberhagen, Fred
Published by New York, New York, U.S.A.: Tor Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0765343215 ISBN 13: 9780765343215
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brain Snacks
(Downers Grove, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New York, New York, U.S.A.: Tor Books, 2004. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. 1st Edition. New, unread 1st mm edition, 1st printing. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-4467320387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fred Saberhagen
Published by Tor Science Fiction (2004)
ISBN 10: 0765343215 ISBN 13: 9780765343215
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Science Fiction, 2004. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0765343215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Saberhagen, Fred
Published by Tor Science Fiction (2004)
ISBN 10: 0765343215 ISBN 13: 9780765343215
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Science Fiction, 2004. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110765343215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Saberhagen, Fred
Published by Tor Science Fiction
ISBN 10: 0765343215 ISBN 13: 9780765343215
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tor Science Fiction. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0765343215 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1265873

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds