PHOTO by Individual Joseph Szabo Jones Beach

ISBN 13: 9780810980167

Jones Beach

3.57 avg rating
( 7 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780810980167: Jones Beach

Beginning in the early 1970s, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the busiest strips of sand and ocean in the world with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies, Szabo’s camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, catwalk-like displays of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents all reveal the dynamics of the beach so close to New York City. Class, race, and other potential divisions are temporarily forgotten, and the perfect and the flawed are portrayed with the same respect and tenderness. Szabo is an internationally acclaimed artist whose last two books (Teenage, Almost Grown) have influenced and been admired by a whole generation of photographers. Fans of Szabo, Jones Beach, and people interested in beach culture in general will treasure this funny, sexy, lovely volume created over 35 years. 

 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joseph Szabo taught photography at a Long Island, NY high school from 1972 to 1999, as well as at the International Center of Photography in New York for more than twenty years. His work resides in many permanent collections including the Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, ICP, the Bibliotheque National in Paris, and Yale University.


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Szabo, Joseph
Published by Harry N. Abrams 2010-04-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Book Outpost
(Blawnox, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harry N. Abrams 2010-04-01, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Introduction by Vinc. 0810980169 New! Unread publisher overstock copy. Bookseller Inventory # Z0810980169ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Joseph Szabo
Published by Abrams Image (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abrams Image, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Introduction by Vince Aletti. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0810980169

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Szabo, Joseph
Published by Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Book Group. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0810980169

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Joseph Szabo
Published by Abrams, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abrams, United States, 2010. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Beginning in the early 1970s, against the backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the America s busiest beaches with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies on Jones Beach, Szabo s camera isolates both rare moments of introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, a catwalk display of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents reluctantly in swimwear all reveal the dynamics of the beach. These photographs show the city and all its different tribes of people displaced to the coast for the day. Divisions and class and race boundaries are temporarily forgotten along with inhibitions about body size and shape. With no agenda, the near perfect and the flawed are all documented with the same respect and tenderness in these vital photographs taken over the last 35 years. Bookseller Inventory # AA29780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Szabo, Joseph
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Joseph Szabo
Published by Abrams, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abrams, United States, 2010. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Beginning in the early 1970s, against the backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the America s busiest beaches with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies on Jones Beach, Szabo s camera isolates both rare moments of introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, a catwalk display of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents reluctantly in swimwear all reveal the dynamics of the beach. These photographs show the city and all its different tribes of people displaced to the coast for the day. Divisions and class and race boundaries are temporarily forgotten along with inhibitions about body size and shape. With no agenda, the near perfect and the flawed are all documented with the same respect and tenderness in these vital photographs taken over the last 35 years. Bookseller Inventory # AA29780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Szabo, Joseph
Published by Harry N. Abrams (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harry N. Abrams, 2010. Book Condition: New. Isolates rare moments of introspection and unashamed exuberance. This collection of photographs which include images of tanned muscle men, a catwalk display of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents reluctantly in swimwear reveals the dynamics of the beach. Num Pages: 112 pages, 80 black-and-white photographs. BIC Classification: 1KBBEY; AJB; AJC; WTM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 260 x 262 x 12. Weight in Grams: 876. . 2010. Introduction by Vince Aletti. Hardcover. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Joseph Szabo
Published by Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harry N. Abrams, Inc. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Szabo, Joseph
Published by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harry N. Abrams. Book Condition: New. Isolates rare moments of introspection and unashamed exuberance. This collection of photographs which include images of tanned muscle men, a catwalk display of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents reluctantly in swimwear reveals the dynamics of the beach. Num Pages: 112 pages, 80 black-and-white photographs. BIC Classification: 1KBBEY; AJB; AJC; WTM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 260 x 262 x 12. Weight in Grams: 876. . 2010. Introduction by Vince Aletti. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780810980167

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Szabo, Joseph
Published by Harry N. Abrams, Inc. 2010-03-16 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0810980169 ISBN 13: 9780810980167
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harry N. Abrams, Inc. 2010-03-16, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-00600472

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book