Scratch Sides: Poetry, Documentation, and Image-Text Projects

4.11 avg rating
( 9 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780970395238: Scratch Sides: Poetry, Documentation, and Image-Text Projects
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Poetry. Art. The poems in SCRATCH SIDES, which Prevallet refers to as her Image-Text Projects, address wide-ranging topics, from love and politics to chance encounters on the street. Prevallet has been contemplating these themes throughout her many years as a poet and co-editor of the literary magazine 'Apex of the M'. "Walking down the street, one inevitably encounters a wide range of passers-by. Eye contact usually results in an immediate lowering of the eyes, to assure the person with whom eye contact was made that the glance was absolutely accidental" - from "Passers-by." Accompanied by documentary style photographs as well as charts and graphs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Kristin Prevallet (born in 1966 in Denver) is an American poet and essayist who currently lives and works in New York City. Prevallet studied with Robert Creeley at SUNY Buffalo and has described herself as working in the tradition of William Carlos Williams, Charles Olson and the ongoing stream of American high modernists. In recent years, she has appeared regularly at the Bowery Poetry Club, the venue which defined the New York downtown poetry scene in the late 90s and early 00s. In her academic life, she has taught at Bard College, The New School for Social Research, and currently at St. John's University in Queens. She has also lectured and performed frequently at the Jack Kerouac School at Naropa University (formerly The Naropa Institute) in Boulder, Colorado.

From Publishers Weekly:

With Perturbation, My Sister (1997), Prevallet wrote through Max Ernst's collage work La femme 100 tetes, sharply turning the tables on gendered Surrealist abjection with nine sections of prose fiction "gently laughing as fires burn through brick, and rioters collapse in exclamatory fits." This follow-up presents nine fresh sets of appropriation, visual collage and startling writing. Kicking off with "Lead, Glass, and Poppy," Prevallet constructs energetic, split-page juxtaposition of comet halos, disc-like patterns of charred remains on earth, disappearing cultures, and a scene of writing where "the liberties taken are/ someone's surface,/ a story not meant to be torn apart." The ingenious "Reading Index (texte indice)" plots its points on split-page graph paper: the lower part contains parabolas of text; the upper page putatively graphs one's reading experience of it, with the X axis representing time, and the Y axis ascending via terms like "Abstraction," "Code," "Association," "Fear" and "Anger." It's a wholly unique piece that gently sends up self-reflection and science. Selections from "The People Database" is part of a project conceived by Brussels-based artist Annemie Maes, who has posted found passport photos (often in bad shape) on the Web, and invited poets to respond to them. Prevallet's prose pieces are a kind of globalist outreach, groping for ways in which "my features can be sculpted into your features and your features into mine." The remaining projects are just as canny, engaged and empathetic; this book marks a real advance in image-text-based cultural poetics, and the emergence of a poet to watch.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Prevallet, Kristin
Published by Skanky Possum (2002)
ISBN 10: 097039523X ISBN 13: 9780970395238
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skanky Possum, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11097039523X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 71.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kristin Prevallet
Published by Skanky Possum (2002)
ISBN 10: 097039523X ISBN 13: 9780970395238
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skanky Possum, 2002. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M097039523X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 298.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kristin Prevallet
Published by Skanky Possum (2002)
ISBN 10: 097039523X ISBN 13: 9780970395238
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Skanky Possum, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. First Edition. Seller Inventory # DADAX097039523X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 761.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds