Sleep no More: Twenty Masterpieces of Horror for the Connoisseur

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by Goodreads )
9781135703783: Sleep no More: Twenty Masterpieces of Horror for the Connoisseur

Farrar & Rinehart, 1944. Hardcover with dustjacket, multiple printings (the first is identified by publisher's monogram on copyright page). First of three 1940s anthologies of fantasy and horror stories edited by August Derleth and illustrated by Lee Brown Coye. Featuring short stories by H. P. Lovecraft, Robert E. Howard, Clark Ashton Smith and other noted authors of the macabre genre, many of the stories made their initial appearance in "Weird Tales" magazine. The anthology is considered to be a classic of the genre, and is the initial foray by Coye into the field of horror illustration. STORIES: "Count Magnus by M. R. James; "Cassius by Henry S. Whitehead; "The Occupant of the Room by Algernon Blackwood; "The Return of the Sorcerer by Clark Ashton Smith; "Johnson Looked Back by Thomas Burke; "The Hand of the O'Mecca by Howard Wandrei; "He Cometh and He Passeth By by H. Russell Wakefield; "Thus I Refute Beelzy by John Collier; "The Mannikin by Robert Bloch; "Two Black Bottles by W. B. Talman; "The House of Sounds by M. P. Shiel; "The Cane by Carl Jacobi; "The Horror in the Burying Ground by Hazel Heald; "The Kennel by Maurice Level; "The Yellow Sign by Robert W. Chambers; "The Black Stone by Robert E. Howard; "Midnight Express by Alfred Noyes; "A Gentleman From Prague by S. Grendon; "The Black Druid by Frank Belknap Long; "The Rats in the Walls by H. P. Lovecraft.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want