Items related to Saint X: A Novel

Schaitkin, Alexis Saint X: A Novel ISBN 13: 9781250219596

Saint X: A Novel - Hardcover

 
9781250219596: Saint X: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Hailed as a “marvel of a book” and “brilliant and unflinching,” Alexis Schaitkin’s stunning debut, Saint X, is a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another.

Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s body is found in a remote spot on a nearby cay, and two local menemployees at the resortare arrested. But the evidence is slim, the timeline against it, and the men are soon released. The story turns into national tabloid news, a lurid mystery that will go unsolved. For Claire and her parents, there is only the return home to broken lives.

Years later, Claire is living and working in New York City when a brief but fateful encounter brings her together with Clive Richardson, one of the men originally suspected of murdering her sister. It is a moment that sets Claire on an obsessive pursuit of the truthnot only to find out what happened the night of Alison’s death but also to answer the elusive question: Who exactly was her sister? At seven, Claire had been barely old enough to know her: a beautiful, changeable, provocative girl of eighteen at a turbulent moment of identity formation.

As Claire doggedly shadows Clive, hoping to gain his trust, waiting for the slip that will reveal the truth, an unlikely attachment develops between them, two people whose lives were forever marked by the same tragedy.

For readers of Emma Cline’s The Girls and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Saint X is a flawlessly drawn and deeply moving story that culminates in an emotionally powerful ending.


“Here is a marvel of a book, a kaleidoscopic examination of race and privilege, family and self, told with the propulsive, kinetic focus of a crime thriller. Brilliant and unflinching, Saint X marks the debut of a stunningly gifted writer. I simply couldn’t stop reading."
–Chang-rae Lee, author of On Such A Full Sea

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
Alexis Schaitkin’s short stories and essays have appeared in Ecotone, Southwest Review, The Southern Review, The New York Times, and elsewhere. Her fiction has been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories and The Best American Nonrequired Reading. She received her MFA in fiction from the University of Virginia, where she was a Henry Hoyns Fellow. She lives in Williamstown, Massachusetts, with her husband and son. Saint X is her debut novel.
Review:

"Saint X is slightly miraculous. Funny, chilling, moving, and throughout, deeply intelligent. We follow Emily into the depths of her obsessive quest with fascination and, in the end, rise with her as she moves on. This is an utterly original and engrossing novel written with the surest possible hand."
―Christopher Tilghman, Author of Thomas and Beal in the Midi

“Here is a marvel of a book, a kaleidoscopic examination of race and privilege, family and self, told with the propulsive, kinetic focus of a crime thriller. Brilliant and unflinching, Saint X marks the debut of a stunningly gifted writer. I simply couldn’t stop reading."
―Chang-rae Lee, Author of On Such A Full Sea

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherCeladon Books
  • Publication date2020
  • ISBN 10 1250219590
  • ISBN 13 9781250219596
  • BindingHardcover
  • Number of pages352
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250219572: Saint X

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781250219572
Publisher: Celadon Books, 2021
Softcover

  • 9781529014266: Saint X

    Hardcover

  • 9781250760371: Saint X

    Celado..., 2020
    Softcover

  • 9781529014273: Saint X EXPORT

    Softcover

  • 9781529074857: Saint X

    Picador, 2022
    Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1250219590-11-24468178

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Books-FYI, Inc.
(Cadiz, KY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Fast Shipping! Most items arrive within 4 business days! There may be a price sticker on the front or back of the book. Seller Inventory # 23MWKO00073B_ns

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 3.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 5AUZZZ001381_ns

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00C6VZ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
bainebridge booksellers
(Bronx, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. Seller Inventory # ABE-1642531475098

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781250219596

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 20.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

contributor1
Published by MacMillan Publishers (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1250219590

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 16.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 38649928-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.48
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Big Bill's Books
(Wimberley, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Brand New Copy. Seller Inventory # BBB_new1250219590

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 22.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Schaitkin, Alexis
Published by Celadon Books (2020)
ISBN 10: 1250219590 ISBN 13: 9781250219596
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_1250219590

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 21.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book