The Rose Hotel: A Memoir of Secrets, Loss, and Love From Iran to America

3.89 avg rating
( 778 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781426214790: The Rose Hotel: A Memoir of Secrets, Loss, and Love From Iran to America
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In this searing memoir, Rahimeh Andalibian struggles to make sense of two brutal crimes: a rape, avenged by her father, and a murder, of which her beloved oldest brother stands accused. Her journey, eloquently and intimately told, is a tribute to the resilience of families everywhere.
Andalibian takes us first into her family's tranquil, jasmine-scented days of prosperity in Mashhad. Iran, where she and her brothers grow up in luxury at the Rose Hotel, owned by her father. In the aftermath of hte 1979 revolution the family is forced to flee: first to the safety of a mansion in Tehran, next to a squalid one-room flat in London, and finally to California, where they discover they are not free from the weight of their own secrets. Caught between their parents' traditional values and their desire to embrace and American way of life, Andalibian and her brothers struggle to find peace in the wake of tragedy.
In the tradition of The Kite Runner, House of Sand and Fog, and Reading Lolita in Tehran, this is a universal story of healing and rebirth.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

RAHIMEH ANDALIBIAN was born in Tehran and moved with her family to California in 1979, at the onset of the Iranian revolution. Raised and schooled in LA, she is a clinical psychologist specializing in intergenerational family therapy. A dynamic speaker and a savvy, promotion-driven author, she speaks frequently at conferences and has promoted the book on Martha Stewart Radio and BlogHer.
From the Trade Paperback edition.

Review:

"[In] this brave, beautifully written memoir... [Andalibian] sharply addresses topics relating to religious and political repression, profiling, and childhood trauma, while skillfully crafting an insightful, passionate immigrant’s story with cross-cultural resonance." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A powerful and uplifting memoir of tragedy and healing." --Kirkus Review

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780615672236: The Rose Hotel: True-Life Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 061567223X ISBN 13: 9780615672236
Publisher: Nightingale Press, 2012
Softcover

9781426216541: The Rose Hotel: A Memoir of Secrets, Loss, and Love From Iran to America

Nation...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Andalibian, Rahimeh
Published by NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC (2017)
ISBN 10: 1426214790 ISBN 13: 9781426214790
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC, 2017. Hardcover. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 1426214790_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Andalibian, Rahimeh
Published by National Geographic (2017)
ISBN 10: 1426214790 ISBN 13: 9781426214790
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description National Geographic, 2017. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1426214790

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 19.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds