Liz Kessler North of Nowhere

ISBN 13: 9781444007930

North of Nowhere

3.93 avg rating
( 720 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781444007930: North of Nowhere
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery. Mia's grandad has vanished and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mum go to support her grandma, Mia makes friends with local girl, Dee. But why does Dee seem so out of reach? Why does she claim to be facing violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? And can Mia solve the mystery and find her grandad before time and tide forever wash away his future? A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Liz Kessler studied English at Loughborough University, has worked as a teacher and a journalist and has an MA in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University. Liz now lives in Cornwall.

Find out more at http://www.lizkessler.co.uk and follow her on Twitter at https://twitter.com/lizkesslerbooks and like her on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/lizkesslerchildrensauthor.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 5-8-Mia is ready to spend her spring break relaxing at home with friends-until her grandfather abruptly disappears. With no choice but to travel with her mother to the lethargic seaside village of Porthaven to assist in the search, the 13-year-old is understandably upset about her disrupted plans. While walking her grandmother's dog on the beach one morning, she discovers an abandoned boat with a diary in the locker that seems to be written by a girl named "D." Mia is convinced that D sounds just like the friend she longs for, so she writes a note in the diary, and a correspondence ensues. When D fails to meet her at their agreed upon time, Mia and her new friend, Peter, set out to find her, but Mia is ordered home by her mother. Peter promises not to go alone, but then he disappears, and when she and his sister try to find him, they learn that D's island was destroyed 50 years ago during a storm. Kessler's story swells and builds at a fast pace, seemingly out of nowhere-just like a storm at sea often does. Elements of time travel make this complex page-turner tricky to follow at times; the reward comes at the end when all is explained. A thought-provoking adventure.-Lisa Kropp, Suffolk Cooperative Library System, Bellport, NYα(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780763676728: North of Nowhere

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0763676721 ISBN 13:  9780763676728
Publisher: Candlewick, 2015
Softcover

9780763667276: North of Nowhere

Candle..., 2013
Hardcover

9781444001532: North of Nowhere

Orion ..., 2013
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Liz Kessler
Published by Hachette Children's Group, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Children's Group, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English. Brand new Book. The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery.Mia's grandad has vanished and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mum go to support her grandma, Mia makes friends with local girl, Dee. But why does Dee seem so out of reach? Why does she claim to be facing violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? And can Mia solve the mystery and find her grandad before time and tide forever wash away his future?A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth. Seller Inventory # AA69781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Liz Kessler
Published by Hachette Children's Group, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Children's Group, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. UK ed.. Language: English. Brand new Book. The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery.Mia's grandad has vanished and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mum go to support her grandma, Mia makes friends with local girl, Dee. But why does Dee seem so out of reach? Why does she claim to be facing violent storms when Mia sees only sunny skies? And can Mia solve the mystery and find her grandad before time and tide forever wash away his future?A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth. Seller Inventory # AA69781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Liz Kessler
Published by Orion Childrens (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Childrens, 2014. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.46
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Kessler, Liz
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Condition: New. A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth. Time is running out as Mia tries to solve the mystery of her missing grandfather, in the second standalone novel by BLUE PETER AWARD-shortlisted author, Liz Kessler. Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy. Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: YFB. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 18. Weight in Grams: 228. . 2014. UK ed. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Kessler, Liz
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2014. Condition: New. A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth. Time is running out as Mia tries to solve the mystery of her missing grandfather, in the second standalone novel by BLUE PETER AWARD-shortlisted author, Liz Kessler. Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy. Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: YFB. Category: (J) Children / Juvenile. Dimension: 198 x 129 x 18. Weight in Grams: 228. . 2014. UK ed. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Liz Kessler
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. The sleepy seaside village of Porthaven hides a mystery.Mia's grandad has vanished and nobody knows why. When Mia and her mum go to support her grandma, Mia makes friends with local girl.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 240 pages. 0.222. Seller Inventory # 9781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Kessler, Liz
Published by Orion Childrens (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Childrens, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001099194

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Liz Kessler
Published by Hachette Children's Group
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Children's Group. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781444007930

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Liz Kessler
Published by Orion Children's Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Children's Books, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9781444007930_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.09
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Liz Kessler
ISBN 10: 1444007939 ISBN 13: 9781444007930
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1444007939. Seller Inventory # ST1444007939

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book