The Message: The Reselling of President Obama

3.3 avg rating
( 63 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781455581566: The Message: The Reselling of President Obama
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

They had 99 problems but Mitt Romney wasn't one.

At the start of an epic election, the team trying to reelect President Obama faced a mountain of challenges: a dismal economy, the faded hopes of the first campaign, and a struggle to raise enough cash to compete. No president had risen so fast, or fallen so far, in the modern era. And no president in living memory had earned a second term in such troubled times. To resell the president, they needed to redefine the world they were living in. They needed to retell their own story and rewrite the characters.

They needed to find The Message.

But first, they needed to fight the enemy within: each other. For six years they kept a lid on their internal disputes-the ego clashes, the disappointed ambitions, and the battle to control the Obama brand. Everything was out of public view and under wraps. They called their style No Drama Obama, and the phrase matched the mood of the candidate. But it was never completely true.

In 2008 they found a way around their rivalries. Four years later, their hostilities threatened to undermine the reelection of a president at a time when most voters were deeply unhappy and ready for change.

Drawing on unrivaled access to the key characters, THE MESSAGE tells the inside story of the Mad Men-the marketers, message-shapers, and admakers-who held the Obama presidency in their hands.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Richard Wolffe is executive editor of MSNBC.com and former senior White House correspondent for Newsweek. His book about the first Obama campaign, Renegade, was an instant New York Times bestseller.

Review:

PRAISE FOR RICHARD WOLFFE'S OBAMA BOOKS, RENEGADE AND REVIVAL

"If you really want to know what happened inside the Obama campaign, this is the one book that will take you there."―Michele Norris, National Public Radio

"A sharp, eye-opening look at campaign politics and some of the often unlikable but inarguably effective operatives who populate the West Wing and its environs."―Kirkus (Starred Review)

"A journalist's eye and a historian's breadth and command."―Ken Burns, award-winning filmmaker

"Wolffe's brisk, well-written narrative is fully in the tradition of Theodore White and Richard Ben Cramer, capturing a pivotal presidential contest dominated by one of the most luminous figures in modern American history."―Michael Beschloss, author of Presidential Courage

"Insightful . . . a thoughtful meditation on Mr. Obama's life and character."―Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

"Clear, concise, and well-written . . . will please the millions who lived and died with every test of the campaign."―Ted Widmer, Washington Post

"If your gift list includes both Obama loyalists craving encouragement and Obama opponents craving insight into their adversaries' thinking, consider . . . this product of exclusive interviews with the president and his inner circle."―Alan Wallace, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review

"A real treat . . . hot stuff . . . fascinating . . . There's a lot of candy in there for us political junkies."―Chris Matthews, Hardball, MSNBC

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wolffe, Richard
Published by Twelve, U.S.A. (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Doug The Book Bug
(Machias, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, U.S.A., 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A New Book, an old price!!. Seller Inventory # 006526

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 7.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wolffe, Richard
Published by Hachette Book Group
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hachette Book Group. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1455581569

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Richard Wolffe
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2013. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. THE MESSAGE tells the untold story of the hired guns who held the Obama presidency in their hands: the consultants behind his advertising, polling and messaging. It explores the inner workings of their world: the egos and exchanges of ideas, the mix of idealism and cynicism, the teamwork and competitive drive, the attention to detail and the panoramic view. Amid the economic uncertainty and political doldrums of Obama s first term, the message team had to overcome monumental challenges. Above all, they had to answer a simple question: Can you convince voters to believe once again in hope and change, when so many of their hopes have been dashed?That was the daunting challenge facing the single most important-and most expensive- team within the Obama orbit in 2012. As THE MESSAGE reveals in surprising fashion, the fate of the president was resting in the hands of his own Mad Men. Seller Inventory # AA29781455581566

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 18.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wolffe, Richard
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VH-9781455581566

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 14.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Richard Wolffe
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2013. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. THE MESSAGE tells the untold story of the hired guns who held the Obama presidency in their hands: the consultants behind his advertising, polling and messaging. It explores the inner workings of their world: the egos and exchanges of ideas, the mix of idealism and cynicism, the teamwork and competitive drive, the attention to detail and the panoramic view. Amid the economic uncertainty and political doldrums of Obama s first term, the message team had to overcome monumental challenges. Above all, they had to answer a simple question: Can you convince voters to believe once again in hope and change, when so many of their hopes have been dashed?That was the daunting challenge facing the single most important-and most expensive- team within the Obama orbit in 2012. As THE MESSAGE reveals in surprising fashion, the fate of the president was resting in the hands of his own Mad Men. Seller Inventory # AA29781455581566

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 19.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Richard Wolffe
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97814555815660000000

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 19.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Richard Wolffe
Published by Twelve (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1455581569

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 21.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wolffe, Richard
Published by Twelve (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AMM Books
(Gillingham, KENT, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. In stock ready to dispatch from the UK. Seller Inventory # mon0000117209

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 12.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Richard Wolffe
Published by Little, Brown Company, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Company, United States, 2013. Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. THE MESSAGE tells the untold story of the hired guns who held the Obama presidency in their hands: the consultants behind his advertising, polling and messaging. It explores the inner workings of their world: the egos and exchanges of ideas, the mix of idealism and cynicism, the teamwork and competitive drive, the attention to detail and the panoramic view. Amid the economic uncertainty and political doldrums of Obama s first term, the message team had to overcome monumental challenges. Above all, they had to answer a simple question: Can you convince voters to believe once again in hope and change, when so many of their hopes have been dashed?That was the daunting challenge facing the single most important-and most expensive- team within the Obama orbit in 2012. As THE MESSAGE reveals in surprising fashion, the fate of the president was resting in the hands of his own Mad Men. Seller Inventory # BZE9781455581566

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 24.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Wolffe, Richard
Published by Twelve (2013)
ISBN 10: 1455581569 ISBN 13: 9781455581566
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Twelve, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # INGM9781455581566

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 22.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book