The Light of Hidden Flowers

3.98 avg rating
( 1,122 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781503950870: The Light of Hidden Flowers

Book-smart Melissa Fletcher lives a predictable life in her hometown, working behind the scenes for her charismatic father in a financial career that makes perfect sense. But when her dad is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, Missy is forced to step up and take over as his primary caregiver and the principal of the firm.

After her father’s death, Missy finds a letter from him in which he praises her for being a dutiful daughter but admonishes her for not taking any risks in life.

Devastated, Missy packs her suitcase and heads for Italy. There she meets a new friend who proposes a radical idea. Soon, Missy finds herself in impoverished India, signing away her inheritance and betting on a risky plan while rekindling a lost love.

The Light of Hidden Flowers is a deeply felt story of accepting who we are while pushing our boundaries to see how much more we can become. It’s a reminder that it’s never too late to pursue our dreams.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

A native of Phoenix, Arizona, Jennifer Handford now lives in the Washington, DC, area with her husband and three children. A first-place finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest in 2010, her first novel, Daughters for a Time, was published in 2012. People magazine hailed it as “a wrenching, resonant debut about infertility, cancer, and adoption. Grab your hankies.” In 2014, Acts of Contrition was published. The Light of Hidden Flowers is Handford’s third novel.

Learn more at www.jenniferhandford.com.

Review:

“Handford's third novel (after Acts of Contrition and Daughters for a Time) centers on identity and how the people in our lives shape our choices...Fans of Carrie Brown and Helen Simonson will enjoy this quietly moving tale.” —Library Journal

“Inspiring readers with a feel similar to Eat, Pray, Love, the story weaves a journey of self-growth with a meaningful reminder that the heart always knows which path is right.” —RT Book Reviews

The Light of Hidden Flowers is a special book in the realm of self-discovery fiction. Handford has a wonderful set of skills put to use in the novel form, from smart pacing to a delightful knack for metaphors and a great capacity for warmth. None of her characters feel contrived, most especially—and importantly—our protagonist. Missy is a relatable and deeply genuine character, flawed and humble and human in a particularly endearing way. In a culture that praises its extroverts and admonishes its introverts to ‘put themselves out there more,’ Missy is a reminder of the admirable bravery it takes to be quiet in a loud world, to be openly scared and vulnerable and to still persevere.” —Literary Inklings

“A deftly crafted and deeply engaging story from beginning to end, The Light of Hidden Flowers is another superbly written novel by Jennifer Handford and very highly recommended.” —Midwest Book Review

“An epic journey through love, war, family, and fate. An enjoyable, interesting read with deftly drawn characters that leap to life. This book will stay with you long after you've turned the last page.” —Adele Levine, bestselling author of Run, Don't Walk: The Curious and Courageous Life Inside Walter Reed Army Medical Center

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Handford, Jennifer
Published by Lake Union Publishing 11/10/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Lake Union Publishing 11/10/2015, 2015. Hardback or Cased Book. Book Condition: New. The Light of Hidden Flowers. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Brilliance Audio
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brilliance Audio. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1503950875

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Lake Union Publishing (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Lake Union Publishing, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1503950875

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Book-smart Melissa Fletcher lives a predictable life in her hometown, working behind the scenes for her charismatic father in a financial career that makes perfect sense. But when her dad is diagnosed with Alzheimer s, Missy is forced to step up and take over as his primary caregiver and the principal of the firm. After her father s death, Missy finds a letter from him in which he praises her for being a dutiful daughter but admonishes her for not taking any risks in life. Devastated, Missy packs her suitcase and heads for Italy. There she meets a new friend who proposes a radical idea. Soon, Missy finds herself in impoverished India, signing away her inheritance and betting on a risky plan while rekindling a lost love. The Light of Hidden Flowers is a deeply felt story of accepting who we are while pushing our boundaries to see how much more we can become. It s a reminder that it s never too late to pursue our dreams. Bookseller Inventory # BRI9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Handford, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. UNK. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Book-smart Melissa Fletcher lives a predictable life in her hometown, working behind the scenes for her charismatic father in a financial career that makes perfect sense. But when her dad is diagnosed with Alzheimer s, Missy is forced to step up and take over as his primary caregiver and the principal of the firm. After her father s death, Missy finds a letter from him in which he praises her for being a dutiful daughter but admonishes her for not taking any risks in life. Devastated, Missy packs her suitcase and heads for Italy. There she meets a new friend who proposes a radical idea. Soon, Missy finds herself in impoverished India, signing away her inheritance and betting on a risky plan while rekindling a lost love. The Light of Hidden Flowers is a deeply felt story of accepting who we are while pushing our boundaries to see how much more we can become. It s a reminder that it s never too late to pursue our dreams. Bookseller Inventory # BRI9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Amazon Publishing, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amazon Publishing, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Book-smart Melissa Fletcher lives a predictable life in her hometown, working behind the scenes for her charismatic father in a financial career that makes perfect sense. But when her dad is diagnosed with Alzheimer s, Missy is forced to step up and take over as his primary caregiver and the principal of the firm. After her father s death, Missy finds a letter from him in which he praises her for being a dutiful daughter but admonishes her for not taking any risks in life. Devastated, Missy packs her suitcase and heads for Italy. There she meets a new friend who proposes a radical idea. Soon, Missy finds herself in impoverished India, signing away her inheritance and betting on a risky plan while rekindling a lost love. The Light of Hidden Flowers is a deeply felt story of accepting who we are while pushing our boundaries to see how much more we can become. It s a reminder that it s never too late to pursue our dreams. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Lake Union Publishing
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Lake Union Publishing. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.31
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jennifer Handford
Published by Lake Union Publishing (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Lake Union Publishing, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9781503950870

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.54
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Handford, Jennifer
Published by Lake Union Pr (2015)
ISBN 10: 1503950875 ISBN 13: 9781503950870
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Lake Union Pr, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. 8.75x6.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-1503950875

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book