Roberto Quesada The Big Banana

ISBN 13: 9781558852556

The Big Banana

3 avg rating
( 17 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781558852556: The Big Banana
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Fiction. Eduardo Lin loves New York. Where else could an aspiring (if under-employed) Honduran actor possibly want to be? In THE BIG BANANA, we follow the struggles of Eduardo, his gringo boss Charlie, his true love Mirian, and his many Latin American friends to survive in the Big Apple. Beneath their hardscrabble everyday lives, we also percieve their hopes, their nightmares, and their outlandish, Hollywood-inspired fantasies. And some days, when times are bad, it seems those flimsy Hollywood fantasies are all that keep Eduardo going.Yet even if the New York winter reaches deep beyond his bones, and the snow-covered city stands like a bride awaiting her fiance, he is still determined to win her heart. Robert Quesada is a lively and gifted writer full of amusing and thought-provoking ideas -- Kurt Vonnegut.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The hero of Roberto Quesada's The Big Banana has appropriately big ambitions: he dreams of becoming a famous movie star. With that intention, Eduardo Lin has come to try his luck in New York City. But as his friend Casagrande points out, it's no simple matter for an undocumented Honduran to make a show-biz splash in el norte:

Imagine a bananero in Hollywood? Here's El Gran Banana, The Big Banana, The Big Banana in the Big Manzana, The Big Banana in the Big Apple, see how it doesn't rhyme in English? What do you think? Some time later New York will be invaded by The Big Banana? Are you crazy, huevón?
Crazy he may be, but Eduardo is determined to give it a shot. For starters, he rents a room in a Bronx household (inhabited by immigrants from every corner of Latin America) and gets himself hired by a gringo contractor. Eventually, he does realize his dream--after a fashion, anyway--and the novel features cameo appearances by such luminaries as Steven Spielberg and Roger Moore. Yet it is Eduardo's interactions with his friends and his environment that make The Big Banana special. Quesada counterbalances the misery and alienation of Eduardo's existence with one picaresque adventure after another. Indeed, his explorations of the high (and low) life place this novel in the tradition of Tom Jones, Candide, and Moll Flanders. True to form, when Eduardo finally discovers love and ultimate meaning, they're not far from his own doorstep. --Margaret Prior

From the Back Cover:

Eduardo Lin loves New York. Where else could an aspiring (if under-employed) Honduran actor possibly want to be? In The Big Banana, we follow the struggles of Eduardo, his gringo boss Charlie, his true love Mirian, and his many Latin American friends to survive in the Big Apple. Beneath their hardscrabble everyday lives, we also perceive their hopes, their nightmares and their outlandish, Hollywood-inspired fantasies. (Mirian in particular is prey to a rather unusual erotic fixation on the legendary Bond...James Bond - leading to a curious, and not altogether accidental, international encounter.).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Roberto Quesada
Published by AP Press (1999)
ISBN 10: 1558852557 ISBN 13: 9781558852556
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AP Press, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. First Printing. Seller Inventory # DADAX1558852557

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Roberto Quesada
Published by AP Press (1999)
ISBN 10: 1558852557 ISBN 13: 9781558852556
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AP Press, 1999. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M1558852557

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 23.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds