Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

3.4 avg rating
( 203 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781589395978: Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice

This is the unrevised first edition of Conviction. A newer version is available from Double Edge Press.

Conviction, a satirical, original sequel to Jane Austen's timeless classic Pride and Prejudice, reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy. Yet the author does not rest on the laurels of Austen; she introduces an entirely new cast of characters, including an ambitious soldier, a wistful vicar, a flirtatious abolitionist, and an ordinary curate. The fates of these characters intertwine as each struggles to find the conviction to live out his or her own calling, while confronting issues of loyalty, courage, faith, and love. Conviction is not a novel merely for fans of Pride and Prejudice, but for all who take part in the ordinary struggles of humanity.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Skylar Hamilton Burris is the author of two novels, a collection of short fiction, numerous poems, and several articles and critical essays. She edits and publishes Ancient Paths literary magazine, which has been featuring quality poetry and short stories for over fourteen years. Skylar earned a dual degree in English literature and economics from the University of Virginia, and she holds a Master's in English from the University of Texas.

Review:

"This book is wonderful...The characters are rich (and believable for the Regency period) the plot is delightful and you'll find Georgiana Darcy to be a moving heroine." --POD-DY Mouth (girlondemand.blogspot.com/)

"While Ms. Burris disclaims being able to imitate Jane Austen's wonderful wit, I was surprised to discover that she possesses a very clever and cunning wit of her own." --Austenesque Reviews (janeaustenreviews.blogspot.com)

"Jacob Markwood could give Mr. Darcy a serious run for his money in the romantic lead department. . . This is a must read for any Jane Austen fan." --Sara Mills, Christian Fiction Review Newsletter

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Burris, Skylar Hamilton
Published by Virtualbookworm.com Publishing
ISBN 10: 1589395972 ISBN 13: 9781589395978
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Broad Street Books
(Branchville, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virtualbookworm.com Publishing. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1589395972 Brand New Book, Crisp and Clean. Bookseller Inventory # 34423

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Skylar Hamilton Burris
Published by Virtualbookworm.com Publishing (2004)
ISBN 10: 1589395972 ISBN 13: 9781589395978
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virtualbookworm.com Publishing, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1589395972

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Skylar Hamilton Burris
Published by Virtualbookworm.com Publishing (2004)
ISBN 10: 1589395972 ISBN 13: 9781589395978
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virtualbookworm.com Publishing, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1589395972

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Burris, Skylar Hamilton
Published by Virtualbookworm.com Publishing (2004)
ISBN 10: 1589395972 ISBN 13: 9781589395978
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Virtualbookworm.com Publishing, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P111589395972

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds