Items related to Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners...

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans - Hardcover

 
9781608190058: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In Beyond the Blue Horizon, archaeologist and historian Brian Fagan tackles his richest topic yet: the enduring quest to master the oceans, the planet's most mysterious terrain. We know the tales of Columbus and Captain Cook, yet much earlier mariners made equally bold and world-changing voyages. From the moment when ancient Polynesians first dared to sail beyond the horizon, Fagan vividly explains how our mastery of the oceans changed the course of human history.

What drove humans to risk their lives on open water? How did early sailors unlock the secrets of winds, tides, and the stars they steered by? What were the earliest ocean crossings like? With compelling detail, Fagan reveals how seafaring evolved so that the forbidding realms of the sea gods were transformed from barriers into a nexus of commerce and cultural exchange. From bamboo rafts in the Java Sea to triremes in the Aegean, from Norse longboats to sealskin kayaks in Alaska, Fagan crafts a captivating narrative of humanity's urge to challenge the unknown and seek out distant shores. Beyond the Blue Horizon will enthrall readers who enjoyed Dava Sobel's Longitude, Simon Winchester's Atlantic, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
Brian Fagan is emeritus professor of anthropology at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is the author of Elixir, the Los Angeles Times bestseller Cro-Magnon, and the New York Times bestseller The Great Warming, and many other books, including Fish on Friday, The Long Summer, and The Little Ice Age. He has decades of experience at sea and is the author of several titles for sailors, including the widely praised Cruising Guide to Central and Southern California.
Review:

“A fascinating story ... this is history on a grand scale” ―Philip Hoare, Daily Telegraph (UK)

“In taking a view of human history from the sea-goer, rather than from the more common viewpoint of the landlubber, Fagan reminds us of the vital role played by water in not only our socio-economic and political evolution but also our spiritual evolution.” ―Literary Review (UK)

“Scholarly yet lyrical ... quietly epic.” ―Sunday Times Magazine (UK)

“Hugely impressive and wideranging book” ―Mail on Sunday (UK)

“Combining his talents as a navigator, archaeologist and historian, Brian Fagan takes us on an enthralling tour of the world as its shores were being opened up by the first seamen to cross the oceans and the major seas. One could not hope for a more engaging skipper.” ―David Abulafia, Cambridge University, author of The Great Sea

“Tacking between first-person anecdotes, archeological explanations, and fictionalized scenes from the distant past, this salty work of historical imagination travels with the Micronesian outriggers that ferried moai carvers to Easter Island, the Egyptian timber barges that carried the cedars of Lebanon to the pharaohs, and the black ships that brought the Greek heroes to the gates of Troy...Fagan has produced a loving tribute to their achievement.” ―Publishers Weekly

“Fagan's newest archaeological work benefits from his own seafaring experiences... sure to pique the interest of maritime readers... A thoughtful presenter, Fagan accords a suitable awe to the intrepid sailors of prehistory and ancient history.” ―Booklist

“Enthralling... Fagan effectively intersperses observations from his own extensive sailing experience as he ponders how ancient mariners might have responded to various sea conditions and what may have initially caused them to take to the sea. VERDICT: Fagan paints a thoroughly fascinating portrait of the intricate interaction among ocean, climate, and humanity in the many parts of the world where seafaring cultures developed. This excellent book is sure to appeal to readers with some background and interest in world archaeology and history.” ―Library Journal (starred review)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherBloomsbury Press
  • Publication date2012
  • ISBN 10 1608190056
  • ISBN 13 9781608190058
  • BindingHardcover
  • Edition number1
  • Number of pages336
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781608194032: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1608194035 ISBN 13:  9781608194032
Publisher: Bloomsbury Press, 2013
Softcover

  • 9781408825068: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

    Blooms..., 2012
    Hardcover

  • 9781408833544: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

    Blooms..., 2012
    Softcover

  • 9781408831045: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

    Blooms..., 2014
    Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 24.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 25.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Front Cover Books
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # FrontCover1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 30.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. 1.15. Seller Inventory # 1608190056-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 40.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. In Beyond the Blue Horizon, archaeologist and historian Brian Fagan tackles his richest topic yet: the enduring quest to master the oceans, the planet's most mysterious terrain. We know the tales of Columbus and Captain Cook, yet much earlier mariners made equally bold and world-changing voyages. From the moment when ancient Polynesians first dared to sail beyond the horizon, Fagan vividly explains how our mastery of the oceans changed the course of human history.What drove humans to risk their lives on open water? How did early sailors unlock the secrets of winds, tides, and the stars they steered by? What were the earliest ocean crossings like? With compelling detail, Fagan reveals how seafaring evolved so that the forbidding realms of the sea gods were transformed from barriers into a nexus of commerce and cultural exchange. From bamboo rafts in the Java Sea to triremes in the Aegean, from Norse longboats to sealskin kayaks in Alaska, Fagan crafts a captivating narrative of humanity's urge to challenge the unknown and seek out distant shores. Beyond the Blue Horizon will enthrall readers who enjoyed Dava Sobel's Longitude, Simon Winchester's Atlantic, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel. Seller Inventory # DADAX1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 40.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Big Bill's Books
(Wimberley, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Brand New Copy. Seller Inventory # BBB_new1608190056

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 54.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Tucson, AZ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New! This book is in the same immaculate condition as when it was published 1.15. Seller Inventory # 353-1608190056-new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 58.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Fagan, Brian
Published by Bloomsbury Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 1608190056 ISBN 13: 9781608190058
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Spot
(Sioux Falls, SD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # Abebooks545525

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 59.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds