The Hundred Mile View (A Jake Keller Thriller)

3.64 avg rating
( 11 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9788293326847: The Hundred Mile View (A Jake Keller Thriller)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A crime thriller set on the Navajo Nation for fans of Tony Hillerman, Craig Johnson and Robert B. Parker.

Agent Jake Keller transfers to a one-man duty station in Gallup, New Mexico from FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C., with the hope that his soon to be ex-wife—an ambitious Navajo FBI agent—will return to the Navajo reservation so he can win her back. His struggles to fit in as an outsider on the Big Reservation are soon overshadowed by two horrific murders in quick succession. An old man and a teenage girl are found bound and burned alive in ritualistic fire pits some seventy miles apart.

Many believe it’s the work of skinwalkers—the shapeshifters of Navajo lore. But Keller suspects it has something to do with a notorious crystal meth dealer known as the Shaman. Either way, he must stop this evil before someone else dies, maybe even someone he loves.

 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

C.J. Howell spent many years bartending and writing in mountain towns before getting a master's degree in creative writing from the University of Colorado. He has published short stories in various literary magazines and his first novel, The Last of the Smoking Bartenders, was named a best crime fiction debut of 2014 in Booklist Magazine. He lives in Scottsdale, AZ.

Review:

"A fine addition to the Desert Noir subgenre. Unpredictable and alluring, Howell's latest blends crime writing with morality tale, action with ennui, to produce a novel that is so ferocious I wanted to back away, but was mesmerized by its pacing and sleek beauty." -CB McKENZIE, author of the Spur Award-winning and Edgar-nominated Bad Country and Burn What Will Burn "Stunning and unflinching. C.J. Howell expertly explores the shadows of reservation life where nothing is what it seems and no one can be trusted. This is a tautly written and gripping crime novel with nuanced characters who linger long after the last page is turned." -MARGARET COEL, author of The Man Who Fell From the Sky "The Hundred Mile View is an exhilarating crime novel. By turns lyrical and brutal, C.J. Howell creates a Southwest steeped in violence and methamphetamine-fueled insanity. An instant masterpiece." -JON BASSOFF, author of The Incurables

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

C.J. Howell
Published by 280 Steps (2016)
ISBN 10: 8293326840 ISBN 13: 9788293326847
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 280 Steps, 2016. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M8293326840

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 35.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Howell, C.J.
Published by 280 Steps (2016)
ISBN 10: 8293326840 ISBN 13: 9788293326847
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 280 Steps, 2016. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P118293326840

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 58.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds