Stock Image

Ablutions: Notes for a Novel (Signed First Edition)

Patrick deWitt

3,223 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0151014981 / ISBN 13: 9780151014989
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (New York), 2009
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Dan Pope Books (West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 12, 2002

Quantity Available: 2
Buy New
List Price: US$ 23.00
Price: US$ 55.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy


About this Item

First edition. First printing. Hardcover. New/New. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. A pristine unread copy. Comes with mylar cover dust jacket. Purchased new and never opened except for author signing. He has signed his name only, with no other writing. Shipped in well padded box. Smoke-free shop. The talented author's debut novel, subtitled NOTES FOR A NOVEL, but of course it IS a novel. His first novel, about a bartender at a Hollywood watering hole and its down-and-out regulars, in the tradition of Bukowski and John Fante. "Dark and provocative. deWitt has painted a portrait of the human condition. And ABLUTIONS has achieved something remarkable." --The New York Times Book Review. The author's second novel, THE SISTERS BROTHERS, was short-listed for the 2011 Booker Prize. You cannot find a better copy. Bookseller Inventory # 0409-1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Ablutions: Notes for a Novel (Signed First ...

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (New York)

Publication Date: 2009

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

In a famous but declining Hollywood bar works A Barman. Morbidly amused by the decadent decay of his surroundings, he watches the patrons fall into their nightly oblivion, making notes for his novel. In the hope of uncovering their secrets and motives, he establishes tentative friendships with the cast of variously pathological regulars.

But as his tenure at the bar continues, he begins to serve himself more often than his customers, and the moments he lives outside the bar become more and more painful: he loses his wife, his way, himself. Trapped by his habits and his loneliness, he realizes he will not survive if he doesn't break free. And so he hatches a terrible, necessary plan of escape and his only chance for redemption.

Step into Ablutions and step behind the bar, below rock bottom, and beyond the everyday take on storytelling for a brilliant, new twist on the classic tale of addiction and its consequences.

From the Back Cover:

Advance Praise for Ablutions
"Ablutions is funny and precarious, a novel that shifts the ground under the reader's feet, a naked-lightbulb self-examination that doesn't shy from high comedy. deWitt has a gimlet eye and a dead aim with words."-- Luc Sante
"deWitt is the 21st century poet of Hollywood's desperate souls, the misbegotten, broken, and the lost. Beware, beware. But read Ablutions." --Chris Offutt
"Ablutions is a novel about the deteriorating health of our livers and the malaise of our dreams. deWitt takes on our diseases and depravity with prose that may yet rescue us from the gutter." -- Salvador Plascencia
"deWitt's writing is deeply charismatic -- a coiled ramble of note perfect sentences, mysterious and burbling declarative tones, the saddest humor imaginable, and the strange physical proportions of a magician's top hat. I love this novel very much." -- Dennis Cooper

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

An online bookstore. All books stored in a smoke-free, bug-free, pet-free environment. We take great pride in the condition of our books. Most are in new condition, untouched, unopened. We guarantee that you'll be pleased with your book purchase! All collectible books are shipped in well padded boxes within USA, not envelopes.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All books shipped within 24 hours.
This is a sole proprietorship, Daniel C. Pope, 35 Avondale Road, West Hartford Conn. 06117, USA. Email: dan.pope@comcast.net. Phone: (860) 232-9930.


Shipping Terms:

Media rate shippng is $3.95. Priority rate shipping is $5.90. International priority rate in a box for a two-pound book is approxiamtely $20. Some heavy books might be more to ship overseas. Will overnight express anywhere within USA if you ask first. All books sent in well padded sturdy boxes.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express