Stock Image

Chasing Rumi: A Fable About Finding the Heart's True Desire

Housden, Roger

176 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0060084456 / ISBN 13: 9780060084455
Published by Harper San Francisco, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2002
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Culpepper Books (Tacoma, WA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 23, 2001

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 40.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Lovely copy signed by the author on the title page. Bookseller Inventory # 003719

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Chasing Rumi: A Fable About Finding the ...

Publisher: Harper San Francisco, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: By Author

Edition: First Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.

Through encounters with Christian and Islamic mystics, and guided by forces he cannot name, Georgiou gradually learns to follow his own heart. The closer he gets to Konya and to Rumi's tomb, the more in awe he becomes at the workings of fate. But it is only when Georgiou returns to Florence that his life changes forever in an experience that reveals the mystery of life and love.

In the tradition of The Alchemist and Siddartha, Chasing Rumi is a spellbinding and enduring story for all.

About the Author:

Roger Housden isthe author of several books of nonfiction, including Fire in the Heart, Sacred America, and his new bestselling book, Ten Poems to Change Your Life. He lives with his wife, Maria, in Woodstock, New York. This is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

General stock with emphasis on Western Americana

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Visa,MasterCard,Check,or Money Order
In the U.S $4.50 postage for first book, $1.00 for each additional book for bookrate. Additional postage may be required for oversized books. Foreign orders and Priority Mail at cost. All books listed are in very good or better condition unless otherwise noted. All books are returnable within one week of receipt if we have made an error in description. Prior notification is required. We are located in beautiful Tacoma, Washington 253-761-9000
Washington resid...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order