The International Booker Prize archives: award winners

Tomb of Sand, written by Geetanjali Shree and translated by Daisy Rockwell, has won the 2022 International Booker Prize for Translated Fiction. This is the first book originally written in any Indian language to win the International Booker Prize, and the first novel translated from Hindi to be recognized by the award.

Each year, the International Booker Prizeis awarded to a book translated into English and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. It is intended to recognize and value world-class fiction on a global basis.

In 2005, the International Booker was awarded for the first time still under the title "Man Booker International Prize". Early winners include Ismail Kadare (2005), Chinua Achebe (2007), Alice Ann Munro (2009), Philip Milton Roth (2011), as well as Lydia Davis (2013) and László Krasznahorkai (2015). The aim of the prize is to encourage the reading of high quality fiction from around the world and also to appreciate the work of translators.

The prize is worth £50,000, which is shared equally between the author and the translator. Additionally, each shortlisted title receives £2,500.

International Booker Prize-winning books

By Geetanjali Shree
By Marieke Lucas Rijneveld
By Jokha Alharthi
By Olga Tokarczuk
By David Grossman
By Han Kang

What's your favorite International Booker Prize book?

Discover book awards

October 18, 2021
Considered the most prestigious literary award in science fiction, the Hugo Award is awarded annually to the best science fiction or fantasy book from the previous year. Explore our list of every Hugo Award winner for best novel dating back to 1953.
1 Min Read
By Jessica Doyle
January 13, 2022
The John Newbery Medal celebrates the most distinguished contributions to American literature for children. Discover every winning book since 1922.
1 Min Read
September 14, 2021
The National Book Awards began in 1950 in New York City when The Man With the Golden Arm by Nelson Algren was named America’s premier piece of fiction from the previous year. Today, it’s the most important event on the American literary calendar and continues to recognize the best in American writing.
1 Min Read