American Duchess: A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt

3.62 avg rating
( 5,807 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062748331: American Duchess: A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess.  Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.

Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind “the glitter and the gold.”

On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just 18, the beautiful bride has not only arrived late, but in tears, yet her marriage to the aloof Duke of Marlborough proceeds. Bullied into the wedding by her indomitable mother, Alva, Consuelo loves another. But a deal was made, trading some of the vast Vanderbilt wealth for a title and prestige, and Consuelo, bred to obey, realizes she must make the best of things.

At Blenheim Palace, Consuelo is confronted with an overwhelming list of duties, including producing an “heir and a spare,” but her relationship with the duke quickly disintegrates. Consuelo finds an inner strength, charming everyone from debutantes to diplomats including Winston Churchill, as she fights for women’s suffrage. And when she takes a scandalous leap, can she hope to attain love at last...?

From the dawning of the opulent Gilded Age, to the battles of the Second World War, American Duchess is a riveting tale of one woman’s quest to attain independence—at any price.

 

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St. Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City’s Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just eighteen, the beautiful bride has arrived not only late but in tears, yet her marriage to the aloof 9th Duke of Marlborough proceeds. Consuelo—bullied into the wedding by her indomitable mother, Alva—loves another, but a deal was made, trading Vanderbilt wealth for a title and prestige, and Consuelo was bred to obey.

At Blenheim Palace, Consuelo is confronted with an overwhelming list of duties, including producing an “heir and a spare,” but her marriage is a sham. Consuelo finds an inner strength, charming everyone from debutantes to diplomats, including Winston Churchill, as she fights for women’s rights. From the dawning of the Gilded Age to the battles of the Second World War, American Duchess is a riveting tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt’s quest to gain independence at last.

About the Author:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author KAREN HARPER is a former Ohio State University instructor and high school English teacher. Published since 1982, she writes contemporary suspense and historical novels about real British women. Two of her recent Tudor-era books were bestsellers in the UK and Russia. Harper won the Mary Higgins Clark Award for Dark Angel, and her novel Shattered Secrets was judged one of the best books of the year by Suspense Magazine.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Harper, Karen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Softcover Quantity available: 4
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Condition: New. Brand New|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

2.

Harper, Karen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Paperback Quantity available: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Paperback. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

3.

Harper, Karen
Published by William Morrow & Company 2/26/2019 (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Paperback or Softback Quantity available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow & Company 2/26/2019, 2019. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. American Duchess: A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Harper, Karen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0062748335-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Harper, Karen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Paperback Quantity available: 16
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 0062748335

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Karen Harper
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Soft cover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
BuyBuyBooks
(Manhasset, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2019. Soft cover. Condition: New. This is an advance reader's, soft cover uncorrected, copy issued prior to publication. These editions are highly collectible since ARC's are published in small numbers and are often marked as first editions. FULL COLOR COVER. Seller Inventory # 110554

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Karen Harper
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her "The Wedding of the Century" to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind "the glitter and the gold."On a cold November day in 1895, a carriage approaches St Thomas Episcopal Church on New York City's Fifth Avenue. Massive crowds surge forward, awaiting their glimpse of heiress Consuelo Vanderbilt. Just 18, the beautiful bride has not only arrived late, but in tears, yet her marriage to the aloof Duke of Marlborough proceeds. Bullied into the wedding by her indomitable mother, Alva, Consuelo loves another. But a deal was made, trading some of the vast Vanderbilt wealth for a title and prestige, and Consuelo, bred to obey, realizes she must make the best of things. At Blenheim Palace, Consuelo is confronted with an overwhelming list of duties, including producing an "heir and a spare," but her relationship with the duke quickly disintegrates. Consuelo finds an inner strength, charming everyone from debutantes to diplomats including Winston Churchill, as she fights for women's suffrage. And when she takes a scandalous leap, can she hope to attain love at last.?From the dawning of the opulent Gilded Age, to the battles of the Second World War, American Duchess is a riveting tale of one woman's quest to attain independence-at any price. Seller Inventory # ABZ9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Karen Harper
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Paperback Quantity available: 4
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Before there was Meghan Markle, there was Consuelo Vanderbilt, the original American Duchess. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Robson and lovers of Downton Abbey.Karen Harper tells the tal.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.270. Seller Inventory # 9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Karen Harper
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019. Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN0062748335

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Karen Harper (author)
Published by HarperCollins 2019-04-04, New York (2019)
ISBN 10: 0062748335 ISBN 13: 9780062748331
New paperback Quantity available: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins 2019-04-04, New York, 2019. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780062748331

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.16
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book