Items related to The Dark is Rising

Susan Cooper The Dark is Rising ISBN 13: 9780099583080

The Dark is Rising - Softcover

 
9780099583080: The Dark is Rising
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
Dark is Rising

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
"When the Dark comes rising, six shall turn it back,
Three from the circle, three from the track;
Wood, bronze, iron; water, fire, stone;
Five will return, and one go alone."
With these mysterious words, Will Stanton discovers on his 11th birthday that he is no mere boy. He is the Sign-Seeker, last of the immortal Old Ones, destined to battle the powers of evil that trouble the land. His task is monumental: he must find and guard the six great Signs of the Light, which, when joined, will create a force strong enough to match and perhaps overcome that of the Dark. Embarking on this endeavor is dangerous as well as deeply rewarding; Will must work within a continuum of time and space much broader than he ever imagined.

Susan Cooper, in her five-title Dark Is Rising sequence, creates a world where the conflict between good and evil reaches epic proportions. She ranks with C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien in her ability to deliver a moral vision in the context of breathtaking adventure. No one can stop at just one of her thrilling fantasy novels. Among many other prestigious awards, The Dark Is Rising is a Newbery Honor Book and a Carnegie Medal Honor Book. (Ages 8 and older) --Emilie Coulter

From the Publisher:
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift-- that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.END

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherVintage
  • Publication date2013
  • ISBN 10 0099583089
  • ISBN 13 9780099583080
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages369
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780689829833: The Dark is Rising (The Dark is Rising Sequence)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0689829833 ISBN 13:  9780689829833
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 1999
Softcover

  • 9781849412704: The Dark Is Rising: Modern Classic

    Random..., 2010
    Softcover

  • 9780241377093: The Dark is Rising: The Dark is Rising Sequence (A Puffin Book)

    Puffin, 2019
    Softcover

  • 9780689303173: The Dark is Rising (The Dark is Rising, Book 2)

    Margar..., 1973
    Hardcover

  • 9780590433198: The Dark is Rising

    Schola..., 1989
    Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Vintage Publishing, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Good battles evil as the future of the world hangs in the balance, in this Carnegie shortlisted novel.Enter the magical world of Susan Cooper. Perfect for fans of His Dark Materials.It's Christmas-time in the Stanton family house- presents, carol singing, good cheer. But for eleven-year-old Will Stanton, something sinister has begun, inching round his subconscious, shouting silent warnings he can't decipher. Then on Midwinter Day, Will wakes up to a different world- silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. A world where evil lurks.Because Will is not the ordinary boy he always thought he was. He is the last of the Old Ones and the power to vanquish the evil magic of the Dark lies within him.Includes exclusive material- In the Backstory you can read an interview with the author and discover the ancient beliefs that inspired the story. Enter the young adult world of Susan Cooper. Then on Midwinter Day, Will wakes up to a different world: silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 16.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Soft Cover Quantity: 1
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 16.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Susan Cooper
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Cooper Susan
Published by Random House (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Majestic Books
(Hounslow, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. pp. 416. Seller Inventory # 53973415

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Cooper, Susan
Published by Vintage Children's Classics (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780099583080-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 12.05
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

COOPER,SUSAN
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 400 pages. 7.40x5.08x0.98 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0099583089

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.37
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. In eng. Seller Inventory # ria9780099583080_new

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Vintage Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Paperback / softback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. 'This night will be bad, and tomorrow will be beyond imagining'It's Christmas-time in the Stanton family house: presents, carol singing, good cheer. Discover timeless favourites from The Jungle Book and Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to modern classics such as The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Seller Inventory # B9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 12.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Vintage Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. It's Christmas time in the Stanton family house: carol singing, good cheer. But for eleven-year-old Will Stanton something sinister has begun, inching round his subconscious, shouting silent warnings he can't decipher. Then on Midwinter Day Will wakes up to a different world - silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: YFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 186 x 125 x 25. Weight in Grams: 268. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 13.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.20
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Susan Cooper
Published by Vintage Publishing (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099583089 ISBN 13: 9780099583080
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. It's Christmas time in the Stanton family house: carol singing, good cheer. But for eleven-year-old Will Stanton something sinister has begun, inching round his subconscious, shouting silent warnings he can't decipher. Then on Midwinter Day Will wakes up to a different world - silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: YFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 186 x 125 x 25. Weight in Grams: 268. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780099583080

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 15.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book