Items related to The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic...

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

4.34 avg rating
( 254,557 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143125471: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36'.”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep

About the Author:

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780670025817: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 067002581X ISBN 13: 9780670025817
Publisher: Viking, 2013
Hardcover

9781447210986: Boys In The Boat

Pan, 2014
Softcover

9781410459541: The Boys In The Boat

Thornd..., 2013
Hardcover

9780143136965: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Pengui..., 2021
Softcover

9781594137792: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Large ..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 0143125478-11-21169482

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0143125478

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
upickbook
(Daly City, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # mon0000162476

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books, New York, New York (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Trade Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Scholar & Poet Books
(Shorewood, WI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Trade Paperback. Condition: New. Clean and tight - unused copy - BRAND NEW!!. Seller Inventory # 033525

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780143125471

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 14.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ00DHQQ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
PublisherOverstocks
(Taunton, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 533ZZZ00DHQM_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # IR-BN-Q-9780143125471

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN0143125478

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Daniel James Brown
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about the American Olympic rowing triumph in Nazi Germany-from the author of Facing the Mountain. For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times-the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest. Seller Inventory # ABZ9780143125471

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 17.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book