Items related to Iron John: A Book About Men by Bly, Robert (1990) Hardcover

Iron John: A Book About Men by Bly, Robert (1990) Hardcover

3.89 avg rating
( 5,408 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780201517200: Iron John: A Book About Men by Bly, Robert (1990) Hardcover
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Iron John is Robert Bly's long-awaited book on male initiation and the role of the mentor, the result of ten years' work with men to discover the truths about masculinity that get beyond the stereotypes of our popular culture. In the tradition of Blake, Yeats, and D. H. Lawrence, Bly has turned to the most ancient stories and legends to remind men and women of welcome images long forgotten, images of a vigorous masculinity both protective and emotionally centered.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap:

long-awaited work of renowned poet and storyteller Robert Bly that explores and challenges the male psyche. In it, Bly brings to light a burgeoning "underground" of men seeking to find a lost heritage of emotional connection -- to their fathers, their children, their wives, themselves. Using the Grimm fairy tale as a vehicle, Bly takes us back to a model of masculinity which is neither Rambo nor "wimp," but rather more like Odysseus. He examines the myths and cultural underpinnings of this classic male model -- a combination of fierceness and tenderness long since sacrificed to the demands of the industrial revolution. Such a sacrifice, says Bly, has given rise to a male sense of loss and unacknowledged pain.

Iron John works to heal this pain and to define a new era in the relations between the sexes -- it is the definitive book about men -- for men and for women.

About the Author:

Robert Bly is a poet, storyteller, translator and worldwide lecturer. His poetry has won many awards, including the National Book Award. This is his first full-length book of prose. He lives with his wife in Madison, Minnesota.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781843333494: Iron John, A Book About Men

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 184333349X ISBN 13: 9781843333494
Publisher: Addison-Wesley, 1991
Hardcover

9788401374470: Iron John - A Book About Men

Vintag..., 1992
Softcover

9780394731193: Iron John - A Book About Men

Vintag..., 1992
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0201517205-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 36.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Robert Bly
Published by Perseus Books (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0201517205

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN0201517205

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
SZ Global
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)

Book Description Condition: New. Explores the myths and cultural underpinnings of modern masculinity, revealing the nature of the male psyche and challenging men to reconnect with their lost emotional heritage. Seller Inventory # 9780201517200

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 34.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Bly, Robert W.; Bly, Robert
Published by Addison Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think_Bdgt_0201517205

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 45.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0201517205

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 37.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
ABC
(Iowa City, IA, U.S.A.)

Book Description hardcover. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # CB5ALLHDNEWSKUS-6814

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 57.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Bly, Robert
Published by Addison-Wesley (1990)
ISBN 10: 0201517205 ISBN 13: 9780201517200
New Hardcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
ABC
(Iowa City, IA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # CB3HD1.5lb-2973

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 57.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds