Items related to The Island of the Day Before

Umberto Eco The Island of the Day Before ISBN 13: 9780140259193

The Island of the Day Before - Softcover

3.49 avg rating
( 15,505 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140259193: The Island of the Day Before
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
Roberto della Griva, a seventeenth-century nobleman, finds himself stuck upon a ship from which he cannot escape, so he explores the ship and reminisces about the various chapters and experiences of his life. Reprint. NYT.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:
Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198
From the Back Cover:
"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherPenguin Books
  • Publication date1996
  • ISBN 10 0140259198
  • ISBN 13 9780140259193
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages514
  • Rating
    3.49 avg rating
    ( 15,505 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780156030373: The Island Of The Day Before

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780156030373
Publisher: HarperVia, 2006
Softcover

9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before

Harcou..., 1995
Hardcover

9780749396664: The Island of the Day Before

Minerva, 1996
Softcover

9780436202704: The island of the day before

Secker, 1995
Hardcover

9780749395445: The Island of Day Before

Rupa &..., 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Open market ed. Seller Inventory # DADAX0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 8.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Trade Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Inquiring Minds
(Saugerties, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Trade Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 8896

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Big Bill's Books
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Brand New Copy. Seller Inventory # BBB_new0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 19.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 21.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Wizard Books
(Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Seller Inventory # Wizard0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Eco, Umberto; (Translated from the Italian By William Weaver)
Published by Penguin, New York, NY (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
100POCKETS
(Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft cover. Condition: COLLECTIBLE - NEW. First Edition, First Printing. BRAND NEW & Collectible. English translation, 1996 First Edition, 1st Printin. Softcover.Fine. Originally published in Italian under the title L'Isola del Giorno Prima. Journals of Robert della Griva, 17th century nobleman, shipwrecked and and cast up on a deserted ship anchored in the bay of a beautiful island he fails to reach. Masterful storytelling from Italian medievalist & novelist Umberto Eco (1932 -2016) who gave us The Name of a Rose (Il Nome della Rosa, 1980). Fine copy. Seller Inventory # 001771

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 26.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Front Cover Books
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # FrontCover0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 30.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Penguin Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140259198 ISBN 13: 9780140259193
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(LOS ANGELES, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. In shrink wrap. Looks like an interesting title! 1.2. Seller Inventory # Q-0140259198

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 57.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds