Items related to The Island of the Day Before

Umberto Eco The Island of the Day Before

ISBN 13: 9780151001514

The Island of the Day Before

3.48 avg rating
( 14,683 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In 1643 a castaway comes upon an abandoned ship anchored off a desert island. As he explores the vessel’s mysterious cargo, he revisits the events of his tempestuous youth-and limns his era’s obsession with science and navigation. Translated by William Weaver. A Helen and Kurt Wolff Book

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198

From the Back Cover:

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.
As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.
"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." USA Today
"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." The Wall Street Journal
UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.
Translated from the Italian by William Weaver
"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780156030373: The Island Of The Day Before

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
Publisher: HarperVia, 2006
Softcover

9780749396664: The Island of the Day Before

Vintag..., 1996
Softcover

9780140259193: The Island of the Day Before

Pengui..., 1996
Softcover

9780436202704: The island of the day before

Secker, 1995
Hardcover

9780749395445: The Island of Day Before

Rupa &..., 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
PB&J Book Shop
(Hot Springs, SD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Seller Inventory # HC-01-568

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
upickbook
(Daly City, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # mon0000228243

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
BC BOOKS
(RUSKIN, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: NEW CONDITION. Dust Jacket Condition: NEW DUST JACKET. First Edition, First Printing. //NO REMAINDER MARK//NO PREVIOUS OWNER MARKS OF ANY KIND (no names or inscriptions, no bookplate, no underlining, etc) //NOT PRICECLIPPED// NEW MYLAR COVER//. Seller Inventory # 36

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0151001510-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. 1st. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN0151001510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by U.S.A.: Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Far Fetched Books
(Leavenworth, WA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft cover. Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st Edition. Advance Reading copy precedes publication with complete letter line (A-E). Unmarked, very bright, extremely tight, unread copy in pristine condition. A beautiful uncorrupted copy. Carefully bubble-wrapped and ships in sturdy box. Seller Inventory # 2601

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. NEW BOOK. Seller Inventory # 001821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0151001510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco; William Weaver [Translator]
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Cronus Books
(Carson City, NV, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. New inside and out! Clean & Crisp Pages w/No markings. Excellent book.(Fast Shipping)!. Seller Inventory # 210113042

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 29.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Harcourt Brace (1995)
ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think0151001510

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 30.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book