Annie John: A Novel

3.64 avg rating
( 4,985 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780374525101: Annie John: A Novel

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice―urgent, demanding to be heard―is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Jamaica Kincaid beautifully delineates hatred and fear, because she knows they are often a step away from love and obsession. At the start of Annie John, her 10-year-old heroine is engulfed in family happiness and safety. Though Annie loves her father, she is all eyes for her mother. When she is almost 12, however, the idyll ends and she falls into deep disfavor. This inexplicable loss mars both lives, as each grows adept at public falsity and silent betrayal. The pattern is set, and extended: "And now I started a new series of betrayals of people and things I would have sworn only minutes before to die for." In front of Annie's father and the world, "We were politeness and kindness and love and laughter." Alone they are linked in loathing. Annie tries to imagine herself as someone in a book--an orphan or a girl with a wicked stepmother. The trouble is, she finds, those characters' lives always end happily. Luckily for us, though not perhaps for her alter ego, Kincaid is too truthful a writer to provide such a finale.

About the Author:

Jamaica Kincaid's books include At the Bottom of the River, Annie John, A Small Place, Lucy, The Autobiography of My Mother, My Brother, and, most recently, Mr. Potter. She lives in Vermont.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
pickabook
(San francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000177900

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1997. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780374525101

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0374525102

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0374525102

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux, United Kingdom (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux, United Kingdom, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie s voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, It was in such a paradise that I lived. When she turns twelve, however, Annie s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a young lady, ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. For I could not be sure, she reflects, whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780374525101

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 0374525102

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1997. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780374525101

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jamaica Kincaid
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux, United Kingdom (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux, United Kingdom, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie s voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, It was in such a paradise that I lived. When she turns twelve, however, Annie s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a young lady, ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. For I could not be sure, she reflects, whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780374525101

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kincaid, Jamaica
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux 6/30/1997 (1997)
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Farrar Straus Giroux 6/30/1997, 1997. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Annie John. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780374525101

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kincaid, Jamaica
ISBN 10: 0374525102 ISBN 13: 9780374525101
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. Annie John, the headstrong, brilliant heroine of Jamaica Kincaid's bestseller, is a child of Antigua but an adolescent of the whole world. Her passage into young adulthood--the tumultuous love of her mother and their gradual separation--is a story that will speak to listeners of all ages. Internationally acclaimed author Jamaica Kincaid has written a true contemporary classic, this generation'sCatcher in the Rye. Bookseller Inventory # 5357193

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book