Items related to Out of My Mind (The Out of My Mind Series)

Out of My Mind (The Out of My Mind Series) - Softcover

 
9781416971719: Out of My Mind (The Out of My Mind Series)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it...somehow.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Eleven-year-old Melody has a photographic memory. Her head is like a video camera that is always recording. Always. And there's no delete button. She's the smartest kid in her whole school—but no one knows it. Most people--her teachers and doctors included--don't think she's capable of learning, and up until recently her school days consisted of listening to the same preschool-level alphabet lessons again and again and again. If only she could speak up, if only she could tell people what she thinks and knows . . . but she can't, because Melody can't talk. She can't walk. She can't write.

Being stuck inside her head is making Melody go out of her mind--that is, until she discovers something that will allow her to speak for the first time ever. At last Melody has a voice . . . but not everyone around her is ready to hear it.

From multiple Coretta Scott King Award winner Sharon M. Draper comes a story full of heartache and hope. Get ready to meet a girl whose voice you'll never, ever forget.

A Note to Readers from Author Sharon Draper

People often ask me, "What was your inspiration for Out of my Mind?" I reply, "All great stories emerge from deep truths that rest within us." But the real truth of a story often can be found in places that not even the author has dared to explore. I suppose the character of Melody came from my experiences in raising a child with developmental difficulties. But Melody is not my daughter. Melody is pure fiction--a unique little girl who has come into being from a mixture of love and understanding. Out of my Mind is the story of a ten-year-old-girl who cannot walk or talk. She has spirit, determination, intelligence and wit, and no one knows it. But from buildings that are not wheelchair--accessible to classmates who make fun of her she finds a strength within herself she never knew existed.

I was fiercely adamant that nobody feel sorry for Melody. I wanted her to be accepted as a character and as a person, not as a representative for people with disabilities. Melody is a tribute to all the parents of disabled kids who struggle, to all those children who are misunderstood, to all those caregivers who help every step of the way. It's also written for people who look away, who pretend they don't see, or who don't know what to say when they encounter someone who faces life with obvious differences. Just smile and say hello!

--Sharon M. Draper

About the Author:
Sharon M. Draper is a New York Times bestselling author and recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. She has received the Coretta Scott King Award for both Copper Sun and Forged by Fire, and was most recently awarded the Charlotte Huck Award for Stella by Starlight. Her novel Out of My Mind has won multiple awards and was a New York Times bestseller for over three years. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she taught high school English for twenty-five years and was named National Teacher of the Year. Visit her at SharonDraper.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781416971702: Out of My Mind (The Out of My Mind Series)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781416971702
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2010
Hardcover

  • 9781432863913: Out of My Mind (Thorndike Press Large Press)

    Thornd..., 2019
    Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_1416971718

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 4.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Solr Books
(Skokie, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Multiple copies available, these are either in unused condtion or are still wrapped. We have workbooks and many other textbook levels. You may contact us for larger orders. Seller Inventory # 5D400000875O_ns

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 4.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Denver, CO, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New Copy. Customer Service Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # think1416971718

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 4.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grumpys Fine Books
(Tijeras, NM, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Prompt service guaranteed. Seller Inventory # Clean1416971718

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 4.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Toscana Books
(AUSTIN, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Excellent Condition.Excels in customer satisfaction, prompt replies, and quality checks. Seller Inventory # Scanned1416971718

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 5.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Sharon M. Draper
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1416971718

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 9.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Soft Cover Quantity: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Bayonne, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781416971719

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Out of My Mind 0.45. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781416971719

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 10.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from Lakeside Books!. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9781416971719

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 6.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Draper, Sharon M.
ISBN 10: 1416971718 ISBN 13: 9781416971719
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 16769622-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
US$ 8.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book